The Misshapes: Annihilation Day: Annihilation Day by Alex FlynnThe Misshapes: Annihilation Day: Annihilation Day by Alex Flynn

The Misshapes: Annihilation Day: Annihilation Day

byAlex Flynn

Hardcover | October 13, 2015

Pricing and Purchase Info

$23.98 online 
$26.50 list price save 9%
Earn 120 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

Sarah Robertson's less-than-super powers relegated her to a group of misfit heroes known as 'Misshapes', who banded together to save their town of Doolittle Falls. Now, after an exciting summer fighting storms, Sarah returns home a different girl in the second book in this heroic series.Doolittle Falls is in chaos, and with the election of a new President, things take a dark turn. Heroes are given extraordinary freedom with results that are less than super - and certain people have a vendetta against Sarah's mom, aka Lady Oblivion, and the entire Robertson family. Johnny and Alice are too preoccupied with their band to help, Freedom Boy is off shooting a movie, and Butters is in a Karaoke battle of epic proportions, so Sarah takes the investigation into her own hands, and must uncover the true reason behind her mother's turn from Hero to villain.Soon Sarah discovers a devastating secret that could topple the nation, and if Sarah and the rest of the Misshapes don't stop this looming threat, the world as they know it faces annihilation. The adventure continues in one of the coolest new adventures series for Young Readers, The Misshapes leap off the page like your favorite comics.
Alex Flynn is the pseudonym for the writing team of Stuart Sherman and Elisabeth Donnelly. They met at a clandestine book club in Boston, where they broke into a fortified tower in order to discuss literature. They like garrulous Irish writers, Pushing Daisies, Axe Cop, and anything involving The Tick. Their secret lair is currently i...
Loading
Title:The Misshapes: Annihilation Day: Annihilation DayFormat:HardcoverDimensions:304 pages, 8.78 × 6.03 × 1.06 inPublished:October 13, 2015Publisher:Polis BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:194061015X

ISBN - 13:9781940610153

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Fans will continue to marvel at the creative twist on typical superpowers, as well as the complex web the government builds. Exciting plot twists and vivid imagery propel the story forward and should have readers rooting for the Misshapen heroes. A unique, thoughtful treatment of citizens' role in society and the right of dissent." -Booklist Praise forThe Misshapes: The Coming Storm (Book 1): "There is much here for fans of "Harry Potter" to enjoy: a school for teens with super powers, a dramatic sporting event called Harpastball, and humorous characters such as Butters, a boy whose super power is summoning a ghostly singing group that broadcasts his thoughts musically (he hasn't mastered sending them away yet). And for romance fans, there's a love triangle brewing here, too. (An) imaginative, action-packed series opener." -School Library Journal "A strong debut... The authors conjure a world teeming with intriguing characters and unusual powers-the abilities to turn liquid into alcohol or conjure spectral backup singers are among those represented, a welcome deviance from more typical power sets... The book never loses its sense of wonder and excitement. Worthy of the comics it takes inspiration from." -Publishers Weekly "A lively action story that lifts itself from similar fare with a plot that packs in surprises, romance, and a creative array of 'misshapen' powers. Great for readers who enjoy plenty of bam! and pow! in their adventures." -Booklist "The Misshapes is a fun book with a lot of heart and some truly interesting characters... perfect for fans of The Tick and other humorous superhero stories. Some of the powers, such as one boy's ability to conjure back-up singers, kept me chuckling and turning pages to the end. I had a good time making my way through this book and you will too." -Middle Grade Ninja "Awesome... we can never get enough strong characters like the Katniss Everdeens or Tris Priors in fiction. Perhaps the next to follow in their footsteps is Sarah Robertson." -Laura Donovan, Hello Giggles "