The Misshapes by Alex FlynnThe Misshapes by Alex Flynn

The Misshapes

byAlex Flynn

Hardcover | October 7, 2014

Pricing and Purchase Info

$22.17 online 
$24.95 list price save 11%
Earn 111 plum® points
HURRY, ONLY 2 LEFT!
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

Some people have powers.Some people do not.And some people just might change the world.Sarah Robertson is one of those people.Sarah is no ordinary girl: she can control the weather with her emotions. But in Doolittle Falls where superheroes walk the streets (and fly over them), Sarah's powers aren't enough for admission to the prestigious Hero Academy. Not to mention that her mother is a notorious Supervillain and the archnemesis of America's favorite Hero, Freedom Man. Instead of being accepted to the school of her dreams, Sarah is marked as an outcast with powers ? a Misshape.Now she's stuck with a ragtag group of fellow Misshapes, her dreams of heroism on hold indefinitely. Yet Sarah is determined to harness her powers to win a place at Hero Academy. But the path to greatness won't be easy. Her brother's rebellious streak is starting to wear thin, she has an intriguing (and smoking hot) new mentor, and an unexpected romance blooms with superstar Hero Freedom Boy. And when Doolittle Falls comes under threat of annihilation, Sarah has to prove there may be more tothe Misshapes than everyone thinks.And she may just kick some Supervillain butt in the process.
Alex Flynn is the pseudonym for the writing team of Stuart Sherman and Elisabeth Donnelly. They met at a clandestine book club in Boston, where they broke into a fortified tower in order to discuss literature. They like garrulous Irish writers,Pushing Daisies, Axe Cop, and anything involvingThe Tick. Their secret lair is currently in ...
Loading
Title:The MisshapesFormat:HardcoverDimensions:304 pages, 8.46 × 5.88 × 1.06 inPublished:October 7, 2014Publisher:Polis BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1940610311

ISBN - 13:9781940610313

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

There is much here for fans of "Harry Potter" to enjoy: a school for teens with super powers, a dramatic sporting event called Harpastball, and humorous characters such as Butters, a boy whose super power is summoning a ghostly singing group that broadcasts his thoughts musically (he hasn't mastered sending them away yet). And for romance fans, there's a love triangle brewing here, too. (An) imaginative, action-packed series opener." - School Library Journal"Writing as Flynn, first-time novelists Stuart Sherman and Elisabeth Donnelly make a strong debut with this trilogy opener... The authors conjure a world teeming with intriguing characters and unusual powers-the abilities to turn liquid into alcohol or conjure spectral backup singers are among those represented, a welcome deviance from more typical power sets... the book never loses its sense of wonder and excitement. Worthy of the comics it takes inspiration from." - Publishers Weekly"A lively action story that lifts itself from similar fare with a plot that packs in surprises, romance, and a creative array of 'misshapen' powers. Great for readers who enjoy plenty of bam! and pow! in their adventures." - Booklist"Awesome... A good friend recently said to me, 'When people who don't fit the mold succeed, those who do conform to societal norms are resentful.' This is true, and it's why we can never get enough strong characters like the Katniss Everdeens or Tris Priors in fiction. Perhaps the next to follow in their footsteps is Sarah Robertson." - Laura Donovan, Hello Giggles"The Misshapes is a fun book with a lot of heart and some truly interesting characters... perfect for fans of The Tick and other humorous superhero stories. Some of the powers, such as one boy's ability to conjure back-up singers, kept me chuckling and turning pages to the end. I had a good time making my way through this book and you will too." - Middle Grade Ninja "