The Monster's Wife by Kate HorsleyThe Monster's Wife by Kate Horsley

The Monster's Wife

byKate Horsley

Paperback | October 1, 2016

Pricing and Purchase Info

$21.31 online 
$23.95 list price save 11%
Earn 107 plum® points

Ships within 1-2 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

A literary gothic, in the tradition of Jean Rhys’s Wide Sargasso Sea and Valerie Martin’s Mary Reilly. A startling new sequel to Mary Shelley’s classic novel Frankenstein. Told from the perspective of the girl Victor Frankenstein transformed into a Bride for his monster. To a tiny island in the Scottish Orkneys, peopled by a devout community of twenty, comes Victor Frankenstein, driven there by a Devil's bargain: to make a wife for the Creature who is stalking him across Europe. In this darkly-wrought answer to Frankenstein, we hear the untold tale of the monster's wife through the perspective of the doctor's housemaid.
Born into a family of eccentrics and raised in a haunted house on the outskirts of London, Kate Horsley developed an early interest in the dark side of things. Her first novel, The Monster’s Wife, came out with Barbican Press in September 2014 and was shortlisted for the Scottish First Book of the Year Award. Her second novel, The Amer...
Confessions of a Pagan Nun: A Novel
Confessions of a Pagan Nun: A Novel

by Kate Horsley

$14.86$16.95

In stock online

Available in stores

The Changeling: A Novel
The Changeling: A Novel

by Kate Horsley

$26.41$27.95

In stock online

Not available in stores

The American Girl: A Novel
The American Girl: A Novel

by Kate Horsley

$18.77$19.99

In stock online

Available in stores

Shop this author
Title:The Monster's WifeFormat:PaperbackDimensions:258 pages, 9 × 6 × 0.6 inPublished:October 1, 2016Publisher:Barbican PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1909954055

ISBN - 13:9781909954052

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of The Monster's Wife

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Fresh Take on the Classic Tale of Frankenstein In The Monster?s Wife, first-time novelist Kate Horsley honours the gothic tradition of Mary Shelley while maintaining a fresh, unique voice. Some describe this book as a sequel to Shelley?s classic Frankenstein. I view this new book as an ingenious spin-off revamping a short period of the classic tale. It takes place after Victor Frankenstein makes a pact with his ?creature? and settles in the Scottish Orkneys for a bout of manic work. Its dark, moody atmosphere lends well to the harsh landscape of the islands and the unravelling plot. With its vibrant imagery and meticulous details, The Monster?s Wife will have a firm grip on you from the start.
Date published: 2014-08-21