The Music Of Razors by Cameron RogersThe Music Of Razors by Cameron Rogers

The Music Of Razors

byCameron Rogers

Paperback | May 1, 2007

Pricing and Purchase Info

$17.95

Earn 90 plum® points

Ships within 1-2 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

In nineteenth-century Boston, a young doctor on the run from the law falls in with a British confidence artist. Together–and with dire consequences–they bring back to the light something meant to be forgotten.

A world away in London, an absent father, haunted by the voice of a banished angel, presents his daughter with an impossible friend–a clockwork ballerina.

For two centuries, a bullet-removal specialist has wielded instruments of angel bone in service to a forgotten power . . . and now he vows to find someone else to shoulder the burden, someone with a conscience of their own, a strong mind, and a broken will. For a hundred years he has searched for the perfect contender, and now he has found two: a brother and a sister. Walter and Hope. Either will do.

Last night something stepped from little Walter’s closet and he never woke up. Now he travels the dark road between worlds, no longer entirely boy nor wholly beast, but with one goal in mind: to prevent his sister from suffering the same fate as he. Only the creature he has become can save Hope. But is it too late to save himself?
Title:The Music Of RazorsFormat:PaperbackDimensions:336 pages, 8.14 × 5.55 × 0.74 inPublished:May 1, 2007Publisher:Random House Publishing GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0345493192

ISBN - 13:9780345493194

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of The Music Of Razors

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dark and Powerful Ok, first off, please ignore the idiot who gave this a one star rating. He knows nothing, and has perhaps not read anything more advanced than, say, Choose Your Own Adventure novels. That being said, this book is not to be taken lightly. Don't be deceived by the slimness of this volume, as Cameron Rogers fits into 250 pages what other authors take 500+ pages to accomplish. Rogers writes with a clear and concise style that is incredibly refreshing, and an economy of words that is a marvel. However, the complexity of this story is such that sometimes you have to stop reading just to digest everything that is happening. To be fair, I can see how this book could be confusing, as the story spans the dawn of time right up to the "modern age", and is not chronological in order. But what a story it is! Rogers packs enough incredible ideas into this one book to fill an entire series. Fans of Neil Gaimen and China Mieville, or anyone who enjoys the darker side of fantasy should enjoy this book. For a first time author, Cameron Rogers has crafted a potent and memorable novel, and I expect great things in the future.
Date published: 2008-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This book is fantastic. I'm just going to ignore the fool who gave this a 1 star review. In actuality I give this book 4/5 stars, but in order to balance out the overall rating, I deem this extremist act neccessary. I'm such a rebel. If you're reading this review, you're probably trying to decide if you should buy it or not, so before I get into the nitty-gritty, I'm going to summarize for you, right after I steal this line from another reviewer, because I deem it a succint observation. "It is a fascinating and assured work of modern fantasy, with a very dark edge to it." -David Caroll Read this book if: 1. You enjoy Neil Gaiman, China Mieville, Steph Swainston, or those of simlar ilk (any writer of the 'New Wierd' for example). Gaiman has a blurb on the cover for crying out loud, is that ever a bad sign?! 2. You like insanely imaginative ideas involving magical and mythical possibilities as a part of an excellent story. 3. You read the apocrypha (prologue to the prologue, in this book) and like where it's going. Seriously, it's what indigo.ca has as an excerpt for the book. Click the 'read an excerpt' button thing by the cover image, it's only 2 pages long in the book, and it's awesome. That taken care of. I read this book over the summer, and was blown away by the story that Rogers packs into 250 pages. I tend to read books in a single sitting, but I actually had to put this down and come back to it the next day due to the density of the story, Rogers is not one to waste words. I do not see this as detrimental, the story told is captivating and ridiculously imaginative - exactly the kind of thing I like to read. 'Tightly plotted' would be an understatement. By the end of this book, I felt like I had read an entire trilogy of thousand page tomes. A _good_ trilogy. That said, I suppose I can understand where the other reviewer is coming from in terms of information density. The difference is that I found it refreshing, primarily accustomed to exposition spanning paragraphs or even pages for the more fantastical settings the author deems it neccessary to describe. Rogers occasionally uses a single sentence to accomplish the same thing - but what sentences they are! Using only a couple of adjectives (neither of which you've probably read in print in ages, if ever) he conveys a great deal. His economy with words is more atypical to short fiction than a novel, but that said, I never felt it was innapropriate for the story. It allows a great many things to happen in very short periods of time, and speeds the tale along its hundred year course. I found the character's intriguing as well. The story is still clear in my mind, but I'm not going to drop spoilers. I've defended this fine book enough. Now go read it.
Date published: 2008-03-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from What?!?! If anyone understands what is going on in this book, good for you, you've done better than me. This book accomplishes exactly what it sets out to do; to be as incomprehensible and messed up as possible. I forced myself to finish it in the hopes that there would be some redeeming revelation contained in the final pages...no such luck. Don't waste your time, find something better to read; it won't be hard. I tried to give this a zero, but apparently that's not allowed...sigh.
Date published: 2007-07-27

Read from the Book

APOCRYPHA Seventy-two angels fell with Samael. As an angel is created it is gifted a function, portfolio, responsibilities. The angel charged with assigning power and function was a powerful angel indeed. Now that it grasped the concept of “rebellion” it truly understood how much power it held. The Power to assign Power. In the wake of this revelation other ideas followed, other realizations. This angel was staggered by the sheer enormity of what it might possess and achieve. Thus the angel sinned. An angel does not die. Anticipating what might occur should its audience with the Fallen One go badly, the angel seized upon another of its kind, sundered it, and stole the silver of its bones. From those bones the angel fashioned instruments approximating its own power. As the angel named them, they existed. Mercurial and undying, the living bone was bestowed with aspects of the angel’s own function. The function of assigning Form and Power. It then scattered these instruments across the Earth, a safeguard against the possibility of its own failure, and departed the presence of the God that had Created it. The angel found Samael in His new Kingdom, and made the Fallen One an offer of allegiance. An offer to create an army more powerful than that of Heaven, to seize what they had lost. Samael was Beauty. The angel could not look upon it. It was all it could do to remain upright and not fall to its knees, as did the seventy-two Fallen gathered around their Lord. The angel remembered the time of Samael’s birth. A thousand others had been created to sing His hosannas. “It was your touch that awoke me. That awoke all of us,” the Fallen Prince said. The crouched and bowed murmured anew. “It was you who assigned me Lordship over the Earth. You who granted me each and every attribute that I possess. You who seated me at the left hand of Our Father.” The Son of Morning’s countenance was beatific, inscrutable, unbearably perfect. “Do you recall the circumstance of our Casting Down?” Around Him, the Fallen softly moaned.The angel dared not speak. “Earth was to be a Paradise, our Father had said. A perfect place for the continued evolution of Itself. As Lord of the Hierarchy, as Lord of the Earth, as the very extension of the Godhead that had created that planet as a growing place for Itself, it was I who contended that a Paradise would be anathema to Growth. Nothing would come from comfort, from bliss. There must be conflict, there must be combat, there must be contrast. “I—Created for the voicing of just such an opinion—was denied. And that denial came in the form of our Casting Down.” Again, the seventy-two assembled moaned. A sound mournful and strange, each utterance different from the others, born of the forms they had been cursed with. “But there will be conflict. There will be combat. There will be growth. The time must come when the part of Godhead—the part of Ourself—that denied Myself is forced to reckon with that hypocrisy. It must see that hypocrisy has been Its undoing. That is the sole condition of victory I will accept. Triumph under any other circumstance is meaningless. “And so to you. You who have turned away from the Force that created you, not by virtue of your function, as did I, but out of avarice. An infant would recognize within you a desire to do so again, to any Master who offered you succor. You have no place here. “Begone.” The angel found itself exiled from Heaven and exiled from Hell. It found itself in the Presence of God. It looked into the Face of God, and was stripped. It lost its name. It lost its sigil. It lost its rituals, its summonings. It could no longer be spoken of within Heaven, nor within Hell, nor upon the Earth. An angel does not die. It simply would not Be. This done, it was Forgotten. It would spend eternity as unlimited potentiality without possibility of use. While, outside its nowhere prison, the instruments it had fashioned from the living bone of its murdered sibling waited to be found. To be used. To unlock that cage.

Editorial Reviews

“A nightmarishly imaginative debut from a writer of real assurance and vision . . . Cameron Rogers is going to go places.”–Neil Gaiman“Dark, disturbing, and filled with moments of real charm and magic, The Music of Razors is the best first novel I’ve seen this year.” –Locus“Cameron Rogers writes like a magician.”–K. J. Bishop, author of The Etched City“Superior fantasy. Fast-paced and seductive, it digs deep for effect and delivers.”–Sean Williams, author of The Resurrection Man “Packed with surreal images that haunt you long after you’ve put down the book.”–Storm Constantine, author of the Wraeththu trilogy