The Names They Gave Us

Hardcover | May 16, 2017

byEmery Lord

not yet rated|write a review

Lucy Hansson was ready for a perfect summer with her boyfriend, working at her childhood Bible camp on the lake and spending quality time with her parents. But when her mom's cancer reappears, Lucy falters-in her faith and in her ability to cope. When her boyfriend "pauses" their relationship and her summer job switches to a different camp-one for troubled kids-Lucy isn't sure how much more she can handle. Attempting to accept a new normal, Lucy slowly regains footing among her vibrant, diverse coworkers, Sundays with her mom, and a crush on a fellow counselor. But when long-hidden family secrets emerge, can Lucy set aside her problems and discover what grace really means?

Emotionally-charged and unforgettable, Emery Lord's storytelling shines with the promise of new love and true friendship, even in the face of life's biggest challenges.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$23.96 online
$23.99 list price
Pre-order online
Ships free on orders over $25

From the Publisher

Lucy Hansson was ready for a perfect summer with her boyfriend, working at her childhood Bible camp on the lake and spending quality time with her parents. But when her mom's cancer reappears, Lucy falters-in her faith and in her ability to cope. When her boyfriend "pauses" their relationship and her summer job switches to a different ...

Emery Lord is the author of Open Road Summer, The Start of Me and You, and When We Collided. She lives with her husband in Ohio, where they are owned by two rescue dogs.www.emerylord.com@emerylord

other books by Emery Lord

When We Collided
When We Collided

Paperback|May 16 2017

$12.51 online$13.99list price(save 10%)
The Start Of Me And You
The Start Of Me And You

Paperback|Mar 1 2016

$10.29 online$10.99list price(save 6%)
Open Road Summer
Open Road Summer

Paperback|Mar 3 2015

$10.51 online$10.99list price
see all books by Emery Lord
Format:HardcoverDimensions:400 pagesPublished:May 16, 2017Publisher:Bloomsbury USALanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1619639580

ISBN - 13:9781619639584

Customer Reviews of The Names They Gave Us

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

"A natural successor to Sarah Dessen's The Truth about Forever. . . . Lord explores the hardships in both Lucy's life and the lives of the people around her without forgetting about the joys of ordinary life, summer love, and the pitfalls of growing up, all while offering a beautiful, all-too-rare portrait of a religion that accepts instead of condemns. Comfortingly familiar, vibrant, and, at times, wrenching, this belongs on all shelves." - starred review, Booklist"Lucy's story, as well as those of the other Daybreakers, will ring true for kids trying to find peace among their own broken pieces." - BCCB"This solid coming-of-age story with family drama and personal growth is a must-have for libraries with Jenny Han and Jennifer Niven fans." - School Library Journal"Lucy's problems are delivered with sensitivity and originality, plus romance, intrigue, and a little bit of mischief." - Kirkus Reviews"A vividly drawn novel of how we believe, how it changes, and how it changes us. In Lucy Hansson, Emery Lord gives us a narrator so vibrantly real that by the last chapter she felt like a friend I'd grown up with. Lucy's journey is as unforgettable as her voice." - Anna-Marie McLemore, author of Morris Award Finalist THE WEIGHT OF FEATHERS and National Book Award longlisted WHEN THE MOON WAS OURS"This is more than a love story. When We Collided carefully yet effortlessly puts mental illness in conversation with the beauty and struggle of adolescence. It is a book I wish could have written, but am so much better for having read." - Julie Murphy, #1 New York Times bestselling author of DUMPLIN' and SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY on WHEN WE COLLIDED"Searingly honest, gut-wrenchingly authentic, and deeply romantic, When We Collided is a gift of a novel. It tackles tough topics with nuance, and will make readers both laugh and cry, sometimes within the span of a page." - Jasmine Warga, author of MY HEART AND OTHER BLACK HOLES on WHEN WE COLLIDED"A five-star must-read romance for older teens (and up) that will challenge readers toward a better understanding of a too-often marginalized and stigmatized segment of the population, When We Collided is an important book not only for this generation of teens, but those who've come before . . . and those who will come after." - USA Today on WHEN WE COLLIDED"An absolute tearjerker romance with a powerful message about weightier topics of grief and mental illness." - starred review, School Library Journal on WHEN WE COLLIDED"In sharp contrast to darker, more issue-driven YA books, this title keeps truer to the problems that most teens face. The protagonist's upbeat attitude will inspire readers to persevere even during the low points in life." - starred review, School Library Journal on THE START OF ME AND YOU"This is the teen world as it should be, full of good times and good friends to temper life's inevitable sorrows, big and small. Fans of Sarah Dessen and Deb Caletti will want to add Emery Lord to their summer reading list." - BCCB on THE START OF ME AND YOU"Lord offers a sweet story of love and loss. . . . The author is gentle with Paige as she struggles to redefine herself both in school and at home, as well as figure out who understands her best as she stumbles toward new romance." - Publishers Weekly on THE START OF ME AND YOU"Reads like an ode to unconditional love that will keep readers firmly believing in believing." - Booklist on OPEN ROAD SUMMER