The Native Star by M. K. HobsonThe Native Star by M. K. Hobson

The Native Star

byM. K. Hobson

Mass Market Paperback | August 31, 2010

Pricing and Purchase Info

$9.97

Earn 50 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

In the tradition of Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell, this brilliant first novel fuses history, fantasy, and romance. Prepare to be enchanted by M. K. Hobson’s captivating take on the Wild, Wild West.
 
The year is 1876. In the small Sierra Nevada settlement of Lost Pine, the town witch, Emily Edwards, is being run out of business by an influx of mail-order patent magics. Attempting to solve her problem with a love spell, Emily only makes things worse. But before she can undo the damage, an enchanted artifact falls into her possession—and suddenly Emily must flee for her life, pursued by evil warlocks who want the object for themselves.

Dreadnought Stanton, a warlock from New York City whose personality is as pompous and abrasive as his name, has been exiled to Lost Pine for mysterious reasons. Now he finds himself involuntarily allied with Emily in a race against time—and across the United States by horse, train, and biomechanical flying machine—in quest of the great Professor Mirabilis, who alone can unlock the secret of the coveted artifact. But along the way, Emily and Stanton will be forced to contend with the most powerful and unpredictable magic of all—the magic of the human heart.
M. K. Hobson’s short fiction has appeared in Realms of Fantasy, Fantasy & Science Fiction, Sci Fiction, Strange Horizons, Interzone, Postscripts, and many other publications. She lives in the first city in the United States incorporated west of the Rockies and fancies herself a historian, bon vivant, and raconteur. Her husband, daughte...
Title:The Native StarFormat:Mass Market PaperbackDimensions:400 pages, 6.89 × 4.18 × 1.1 inPublished:August 31, 2010Publisher:Random House Publishing GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0553592653

ISBN - 13:9780553592658

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of The Native Star

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm constantly on the search for authors with a distinct voice and a great sense of humour. M.K. Hobson fits the bill: a very amusing author who creates a world you don't want to leave. Even with silly names and biomechanical flying machines, the world of this novel feels vividly real. The characters are perfect - completely flawed but absolutely lovable. I'm very excited to read more from this author!
Date published: 2014-04-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Debut I really liked The Native Star, once I actually got into it. The main drawback to the book is that the language used is typical of the time period in which it is set, which is why it took me so long to get into the story. Once I could get past penny thrillers, corsets, and plaits, the story itself became incredibly engaging. Hobson has managed to create a world in which science, religion, and magic co-exist--although sometimes not peacefully. As a result, Emily and Stanton must avoid witch-burning preachers, blood mages, and mad Russian scientists. It makes for a fun adventure, and a dash of subtle humor and romance doesn't hurt the story, either. This is a good book if you are looking to escape for a few hours on a drizzly afternoon, and I intend to get the sequel for the next time it rains!
Date published: 2011-08-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good debut In 1876, Emily, a Witch and Dreadnought, a Warlock, become reluctant allies when an enchanted artifact literally falls into Emily’s hand. They find themselves in a race across the country looking for the key to releasing the secrets of the artifact. Along the way, they are pursued by evil Warlocks and discover the artifact holds dangers of its own --time is running out for Emily. I absolutely loved the setting of this novel and its magic system. I enjoyed the dichotomy of a strong female protagonist in an era where the role of women was minimized. I also liked how Emily’s and Dreadnought’s relationship developed--from antagonistic to head-over-heels-in-love. Overall, I thought this was a fine debut novel and would definitely recommend it to others. “The Hidden Goddess,” the second book in the series, is set for release in May 2011.
Date published: 2010-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Promising Debut M.K Hobson has blended history, fantasy, and western with a dash of romance to create a unique and facinating world and I am really looking forward to her next installment. Besides any book with a character named Dreadnaught has got to be good!
Date published: 2010-10-08

Editorial Reviews

"The Native Star is engaging, atmospheric, and lovely. I was quite taken by the concept of an Old West built on a foundation of magic and zombie slave labor. Oh, and giant raccoons. Bring on the coons! And how spectacular is the name Dreadnought Stanton? This book utterly absorbed me from start to finish—these days you have no idea how rare that is. You have something special in your hands—no pun intended." —Gail Carriger, New York Times bestelling author of Soulless“M. K. Hobson dazzles! The Native Star is an awesome mash-up of magic and steam-age technology—call it witchpunk. This debut novel puts a new shine on the Gilded Age.” —C. C. Finlay   “Splendid! In The Native Star, M. K. Hobson gives us a Reconstruction-era America, beautifully drawn and filled with the energy of a young nation—and magic! Her heroine, Emily Edwards, is outspoken,  rash, loving, and true; a delight to spend time with. Could there be a sequel, please?” —Madeleine Robins