The Nest: A Novel by Kenneth OppelThe Nest: A Novel by Kenneth Oppel

The Nest: A Novel

byKenneth Oppel

Other | September 1, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$5.00 online 
$19.99 list price save 74%
Earn 25 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Kenneth Oppel’s most haunting story yet . . .

She was very blurry, not at all human looking. There were huge dark eyes, and a kind of mane made of light, and when she spoke, I couldn't see a mouth moving, but I felt her words, like a breeze against my face, and I understood her completely.

"We've come because of the baby," she said. "We've come to help."

In this beautiful, menacing novel, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman’s Coraline, an anxious boy becomes convinced that angels will save his sick baby brother. But these are creatures of a very different kind, and their plan for the baby has a twist. Layer by layer, he unravels the truth about his new friends as the time remaining to save his brother ticks down.

With evocative and disquieting illustrations by Caldecott Medal– and Governor General’s Award–winning artist Jon Klassen, The Nest is an unforgettable journey into one boy’s deepest insecurities and darkest fears.

KENNETH OPPELis the author of numerous books for young readers. His award-winning Silverwing trilogy has sold over a million copies worldwide and was adapted into an animated TV series and stage play.Airbornwon a Michael L. Printz Honor Book Award and the Governor General’s Literary Award; its sequel,Skybreaker, was aNew York Timesbest...
Loading
Title:The Nest: A NovelFormat:OtherDimensions:256 pages, 7 × 5 × 0.89 inPublished:September 1, 2017Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1443438626

ISBN - 13:9781443438629

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Haunting and engrossing! I got to hear Oppel read from this novel and was immediately drawn in by the unique premise. He manages to balance family issues with a creepy supernatural twist on elements of natural phenomena. This is a quick read aimed at 11-14 year olds but I think older readers would also enjoy (like Coraline, as another reviewer mentioned).
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Holy Creepy! wow...I started this book last night and didn't put it down until it was done. It's a quick read and rightly aimed at the middle school audience, but don't be fooled, it's appealing to a much wider age range. On the surface it's a story about creepy bugs having way more power than anyone would be comfortable with, but dig a little deeper and you realize that Opel is challenging his readers to consider some tough ethical questions. What would you be willing to pay to achieve perfection? What is normal? Who decides what behaviour is acceptable? Does family happiness depend on "normal" or "perfect" members? This is a thrilling read that successfully challenges the validity of societies definition of normal.
Date published: 2015-11-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from NOT THE BEES!!! Nicholas Cage: NOT THE BEES!!! Ok, fine, I know wasps are not the same as bees. But you get the idea... I hate buzzing insects to begin with, and now I'll never be able to look at wasps the same way again. "The Nest" reminded me a lot of Patrick Ness's A Monster Calls, from the creepiness of the story to the black charcoal-like illustrations. It works well for its audience as a middle-grade read but, surprisingly, is just as eerily enchanting for older audiences. It is, however, less memorable than "A Monster Calls" which leaves a lingering uneasiness that something is just creeping over your shoulder.
Date published: 2015-11-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Creep-tastic Kenneth Oppel makes your imagination run wild in this dark tale about a boy trying to save his sick baby brother. It evokes a feeling of unease in a slow-building way. Like reading a ghost story you heard around the camp-fire or in a closet with a flash light as a kid.
Date published: 2015-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic! What a fantastic book! Technically, this is a middle grade novel, but like Gaiman's Coraline, can be enjoyed by all ages. I was surprised how dark this story was and was actually on the edge of my seat to find out what happened. Loved it!
Date published: 2015-06-09

Editorial Reviews

“A masterpiece, and deeply heartening proof that two of our country’s best artists are continuing to take risks and grow artistically, even at the height of their careers.”