The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind: My Tale of Madness and Recovery

April 3, 2018|
The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind: My Tale of Madness and Recovery by Barbara K. Lipska

about

In the tradition of My Stroke of Insight and Brain on Fire, this powerful memoir recounts Barbara Lipska's deadly brain cancer and explains its unforgettable lessons about the brain and mind.

Neuroscientist Lipska was diagnosed early in 2015 with metastatic melanoma in her brain's frontal lobe. As the cancer progressed and was treated, she experienced behavioral and cognitive symptoms connected to a range of mental disorders, including dementia and her professional specialty, schizophrenia.

Lipska's family and associates were alarmed by the changes in her behavior, which she failed to acknowledge herself. Gradually, after a course of immunotherapy, Lipska returned to normal functioning, amazingly recalled her experience, and through her knowledge of neuroscience identified the ways in which her brain changed during treatment.

Lipska admits her condition was unusual; after recovery she was able to return to her research and resume her athletic training and compete in a triathalon. Most patients with similar brain cancers rarely survive to describe their ordeal. Lipska's memoir, coauthored with journalist Elaine McArdle, shows that strength and courage but also an encouraging support network are vital to recovery.

Title:The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind: My Tale of Madness and Recovery
Format:Kobo ebook
Published:April 3, 2018
Publisher:HarperCollins
Language:English
Appropriate for ages:All ages
ISBN - 13:9781328787279

Recently Viewed
|