The Night Brother

Paperback | August 1, 2017

byRosie Garland

not yet rated|write a review
From the author of The Palace of Curiosities and Vixen comes a bold new novel exploring questions of identity, sexual equality and how well we really know ourselves. Perfect for fans of Angela Carter, Sarah Waters and Erin Morgenstern.Rich are the delights of late nineteenth-century Manchester for young siblings Edie and Gnome. They bicker, banter, shout and scream their way through the city's streets, embracing its charms and dangers. But as the pair grow up, it is Gnome who revels in the night-time, while Edie wakes exhausted each morning, unable to quell a sickening sense of unease, with only a dim memory of the dark hours.Confused and frustrated at living a half-life, she decides to take control, distancing herself from Gnome once and for all. But can she ever be free from someone who knows her better than she knows herself?A dazzling and provocative novel of adventure and belonging, The Night Brother lures us to the furthermost boundaries of sexual and gender identity. With echoes of Orlando and Jekyll & Hyde, this is a story about the vital importance of being honest with yourself. Every part of yourself. After all, no-one likes to be kept in the dark.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$19.57
$21.99 list price save 11%
Pre-order online
Ships free on orders over $25

From the Publisher

From the author of The Palace of Curiosities and Vixen comes a bold new novel exploring questions of identity, sexual equality and how well we really know ourselves. Perfect for fans of Angela Carter, Sarah Waters and Erin Morgenstern.Rich are the delights of late nineteenth-century Manchester for young siblings Edie and Gnome. They bi...

Rosie Garland is a novelist, poet, performer and singer with post-punk band The March Violets. An eclectic writer, she started out in spoken word, going on to garner praise as a performance poet. Her award-winning short stories, poems and essays have been widely anthologised, and her sixth poetry collection, As In Judy, is out now with...

other books by Rosie Garland

The Palace Of Curiosities
The Palace Of Curiosities

Paperback|Sep 23 2013

$15.99

Vixen
Vixen

Paperback|Jun 30 2015

$12.46$16.99list pricesave 26%
As in Judy
As in Judy

Kobo ebook|Dec 1 2016

$10.32

see all books by Rosie Garland
Format:PaperbackDimensions:384 pagesPublished:August 1, 2017Publisher:HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERSLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0008166110

ISBN - 13:9780008166113

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of The Night Brother

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

Praise for The Night Brother:'Rosie Garland writes in a tumble of poetry, desire and passion, as intriguing and delicious as the story she tells' Stella DuffyPraise for The Palace of Curiosities:'Garland's lush prose is always a pleasure' GUARDIAN'A jewel-box of a novel . Garland is a real literary talent: definitely an author to watch' Sarah Waters'An alternately brutal and beautiful story about love and belonging in a vividly conveyed underworld, rich in carny phantasmagoria and lyrical romance' METRO'Bewitching' GOOD HOUSEKEEPING'Reminds me of Angela Carter' Jenni Murray