The Nightmare

Paperback | January 29, 2013

byLars Kepler

not yet rated|write a review
The bestselling follow up to the debut thriller The Hypnotist, again starring DI Joona Linna, became a bestseller around the world and successfully established itself in Canada. For readers of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo. 

On  a summer night, police recover the body of a young woman from an abandoned pleasure boat drifting around the Stockholm archipelago. Her lungs are filled with brackish water, and the forensics team is sure that she drowned. Why, then, is the pleasure boat still afloat, and why are there no traces of water on her clothes or body? The next day, a man turns up dead in his state apartment in Stockholm, hanging from a lamphook in the ceiling. All signs point to suicide, but the room has a high ceiling, and there's not a single piece of furniture around -- nothing to climb on. Joona Linna begins to piece together the two mysteries, but the logistics are a mere prelude to a dizzying and dangerous course of events. At its core, the most frightening aspect of The Nightmare isn't its gruesome crimes -- it's the dark psychology of its characters, who show us how blind we are to our own motives.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$11.09 online
$19.95 list price (save 44%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

The bestselling follow up to the debut thriller The Hypnotist, again starring DI Joona Linna, became a bestseller around the world and successfully established itself in Canada. For readers of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo. On  a summer night, police recover the body of a young woman from an abandoned pleasure boat drifting around the Sto...

LARS KEPLER is the pseudonym of Alexandra Coelho Ahndoril & Alexander Ahndoril, both critically-acclaimed writers under their own names. Alexandra Coelho Ahndoril's first novel Stjärneborg (Castle of Stars) has been translated in several languages while Alexander Ahndoril's novel The Director, about Ingmar Bergman, was shortlisted for ...

other books by Lars Kepler

Stalker
Stalker

Paperback|May 10 2016

$18.16 online$24.95list price(save 27%)
The Sandman
The Sandman

Paperback|Jun 30 2015

$12.06 online$17.95list price(save 32%)
The Hypnotist
The Hypnotist

Paperback|Jun 12 2012

$11.08 online$19.95list price(save 44%)
see all books by Lars Kepler
Format:PaperbackDimensions:512 pages, 9 × 6 × 1.3 inPublished:January 29, 2013Publisher:McClelland & StewartLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0771095880

ISBN - 13:9780771095887

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Looking foward for the next book.
Date published: 2015-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The nightmare Loved it..I read at bedtime and I could hardly wait.
Date published: 2014-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Loved every minute of it!
Date published: 2014-03-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Nightmare Much better than his first book. A very good thriller
Date published: 2014-01-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Nightmare it was pretty good
Date published: 2013-09-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Nightmare Thoroughly enjoyed this novel. I think it's better than the first novel, The Hypnotist.
Date published: 2013-09-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Another Great One Book 2, in the Detective Inspector Joona Linna series This is another nail-biting mystery with chase after chase and tense situation that keeps coming at every pages or so. This second complex installment looks into two bizarre deaths, one being of Carl Palmcrona, the general director of the National inspectorate of Strategic Products overseeing military exports found hanged at his home and the other of Penelope Fernandez found dead on a drifting boat. And voilà, Linna detective extraordinaire is on the scene and after one look he knows what happened. He delves into the cases and crosses paths with a professional killer and a sadistic businessman involved in a scheme with horrific international consequences. During the 500 pages we have countess red-herring and exceptionally nasty criminal behavior. The mystery weaves an intricate web of motives and manipulation as its action escalates into pulse-pounding rescue missions and reveals a trail of corruption linking the wealthiest and most connected families in Europe to vicious war crimes in Sudan. I liked this clever piece of fiction even with some of the foul language and sexual references and its weird and long cast characters. I am looking forward to the sequel “The Fire Witness”.
Date published: 2013-05-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A good beach book An entertaining light read, but not as good as the hypnotist.
Date published: 2013-05-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Yeah, ok. An interesting enough story, i guess. But the translation is pretty choppy at points. It's candy.
Date published: 2013-04-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Yeah, ok. An interesting enough story, i guess. But the translation is pretty choppy at points. It's candy.
Date published: 2013-04-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Better than The Hypnotist Context and characters are better developed than in The Hypnotist. Still too much of the stagey violence and melodrama you find in cheap thrillers.
Date published: 2012-10-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Read! Another slam dunk for Lars Kepler. Great read and exciting story but not quite as intriguing as The Hypnotist. Can't wait to see what Detective Joona Linna does next!
Date published: 2012-08-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I Like Linna I read the first book - The Hypnotist - by the Swedish husband and wife team of Lars Kepler last year. I was quite intrigued with their recurring character Inspector Joona Linna, so I happily picked up their latest release - The Nightmare. Two deaths, that at first glance appear to be accidental or suicides, draw the attention of Inspector Linna. Linna sees things differently from others. He has that little 'something extra' in the way he views crime scenes and evidence, often spotting clues or links that others miss. When he decides that the two scenes are linked, he puts himself on the case, against the wishes of his superiors and the leader of the investigation. Linna is never loud or pushy - he simply ignores much of what is said and continues on. And when he is proven right, how can they take him off the case? And the case is a mystery - the killer is quick, silent, incredibly devious and frightening - he seems to know the victims' worst nightmares - and makes them come true. He's killing in order to obtain something - but what? Kepler has changed things up a bit with this second book. The mystery, tension and psychological thrills are all there, but some political plotting and social commentary is also worked into the mix. (I was quite stunned by some of the statistics listed in the book and had to go online to check them - and yes they're true. "Every single day thirty-nine million bullets are made. The nine largest exporters of weapons in the world are the United States, Russia, Germany, France, Great Britain, the Netherlands, Italy, Sweden and China.") Interestingly, the flyleaf and promos for the book only make reference to the unusual murders, not the weapons plotline. I do wonder if this combination was a bit too ambitious - it seemed to get very, very busy. Either storyline on its own would have been good. I think what I do like about Kepler's books is that I have no idea what to expect - I always feel a little off kilter. Joona Linna's thinking is non linear and his take on things is always refreshing. The Nightmare is populated by odd characters with strange penchants and proclivities that give an unsettled feel to the narrative. The scene with the television personality left me bewildered as to why it was included. The book is translated from the original Swedish by Laura A. Wideberg and I found the cadence of some of the prose added to the off kilter feeling. But, did I like it? Yes. I am definitely a fan of Inspector Linna and will happily pick up the third book in the series - already released in Sweden.
Date published: 2012-07-27

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

"A high-octane, taut thriller... what sets The Nightmare apart from its rivals is the way it has been translated: a pacy, present-tense unravelling of the action that ramps up the sense of peril." —Marie Claire"Fans of slow-burning Scandinavian crime fiction with troubled heroes will feel right at home with Kepler...."—Publishers Weekly"A fast-paced book that is impossible to put down.... A thrilling plotline...unique, creative, and entertaining..."—Deseret News