The Nightmare by Lars Kepler

The Nightmare

byLars Kepler

Paperback | January 29, 2013

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$19.93 online 
$19.95
Earn 100 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

The bestselling follow up to the debut thriller The Hypnotist, again starring DI Joona Linna, became a bestseller around the world and successfully established itself in Canada. For readers of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo. 

On  a summer night, police recover the body of a young woman from an abandoned pleasure boat drifting around the Stockholm archipelago. Her lungs are filled with brackish water, and the forensics team is sure that she drowned. Why, then, is the pleasure boat still afloat, and why are there no traces of water on her clothes or body? The next day, a man turns up dead in his state apartment in Stockholm, hanging from a lamphook in the ceiling. All signs point to suicide, but the room has a high ceiling, and there's not a single piece of furniture around -- nothing to climb on. Joona Linna begins to piece together the two mysteries, but the logistics are a mere prelude to a dizzying and dangerous course of events. At its core, the most frightening aspect of The Nightmare isn't its gruesome crimes -- it's the dark psychology of its characters, who show us how blind we are to our own motives.

About The Author

LARS KEPLER is the pseudonym of Alexandra Coelho Ahndoril & Alexander Ahndoril, both critically-acclaimed writers under their own names. Alexandra Coelho Ahndoril's first novel Stjärneborg (Castle of Stars) has been translated in several languages while Alexander Ahndoril's novel The Director, about Ingmar Bergman, was shortlisted for ...
Playground
Playground

by Lars Kepler

$39.95

In stock online

Available in stores

Stalker
Stalker

by Lars Kepler

$22.66$24.95

In stock online

Available in stores

The Rabbit Hunter
The Rabbit Hunter

by Lars Kepler

$28.48$32.00

Pre-order online

Not yet available in stores

Shop this author

Details & Specs

Title:The NightmareFormat:PaperbackDimensions:512 pages, 9 × 6 × 1.3 inPublished:January 29, 2013Publisher:McClelland & StewartLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0771095880

ISBN - 13:9780771095887

Look for similar items by category:

Nearby Stores

We found 0 nearby stores

Customer Reviews of The Nightmare

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

"A high-octane, taut thriller... what sets The Nightmare apart from its rivals is the way it has been translated: a pacy, present-tense unravelling of the action that ramps up the sense of peril." —Marie Claire"Fans of slow-burning Scandinavian crime fiction with troubled heroes will feel right at home with Kepler...."—Publishers Weekly"A fast-paced book that is impossible to put down.... A thrilling plotline...unique, creative, and entertaining..."—Deseret News