The Odds Of You And Me: A Novel by Cecilia GalanteThe Odds Of You And Me: A Novel by Cecilia Galante

The Odds Of You And Me: A Novel

byCecilia Galante

Paperback | January 31, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$12.88 online 
$18.50 list price save 30%
Earn 64 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

In the vein of Meg Donohue and Sarah Jio, Cecilia Galante’s second novel delivers the powerful story of one young woman who’s faced with an impossible choice—one that could have her making the biggest mistake of her life.

Thirteen days. That’s all Bernadette, “Bird,” Sincavage has left to go until she’s done with her probation and can be free again. Free from making payments to the supermarket she wrote bad checks to. Free from living at home with her overzealous mother who’s constantly nagging her about attending church again. Free to give her four-year-old son, Angus, the normal life he deserves. Her impending freedom and move to Moon Lake, where she’s plunked down a deposit on a brand new apartment, is so close she can almost taste it. What trouble could she possibly get into in just thirteen days?

But trouble does follow in the form of James Rittenhouse—someone she worked with a few years ago. At first, Bird is stunned to see James make the evening news when he’s arrested for assaulting someone in a local bar. But that’s nothing compared to the shock she gets when she discovers James hiding out in an abandoned church choir loft. Somehow he escaped police custody, broke his leg, and got his hand on a gun, which he’s now pointing at her.

Although Bird doesn’t tell anyone she saw James, there’s no way she’s helping him. She can’t screw up her probation or her second chance for a new future. And she has her son’s welfare to think about. Still. If only she could stop thinking about the terrified look in James’ eyes and the fact that he’s hurt. If only she could forget that once, long ago, James helped her out, and she owes him a debt like no other. 

Will Bird jeopardize her future for someone who helped her out in the past? A past that holds secrets she’s not quite sure she’s ready to face? Or will she turn a blind eye and learn to live with the consequences?
Cecilia Galante writes books for children, middle-school kids, young adults, and adults. Her children's books include the Little Wings series and her middle grade novels include Willowood, Hershey Herself, The Summer of May, and The World from up Here. Her young adult novels include The Patron Saint of Butterflies, The Sweetness of Sal...
Little Wings #4: The One And Only Willa Bean
Little Wings #4: The One And Only Willa Bean

by Cecilia Galante

$7.40

In stock online

Not available in stores

Little Wings #2: Be Brave, Willa Bean!
Little Wings #2: Be Brave, Willa Bean!

by Cecilia Galante

$5.99

Ships within 1-2 weeks

Not available in stores

Stealing Our Way Home
Stealing Our Way Home

by Cecilia Galante

$22.27$23.99

In stock online

Not available in stores

Shop this author
Title:The Odds Of You And Me: A NovelFormat:PaperbackDimensions:384 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.86 inPublished:January 31, 2017Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062434853

ISBN - 13:9780062434852

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of The Odds Of You And Me: A Novel

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Second chances 3.5 The Odds of You and Me is Cecilia Galante's latest novel. It was the cover that first drew me to the book. I love those little sneakers protected by the bigger pair. And that's the premise of the book.... Bird Connolly is a young single mom to four year old Angus. She loves him more than anything, but wishes their lives were different. Living with her mother cleaning houses was not what she imagined for herself. At one time, she wanted to be a nurse. But some bad choices have set her back. But her probation is almost up and she has plans. Until the past comes barreling into the present. A young man she used to work with commits a serious crime. He escapes police custody, but is injured. Holed up in the local church, Bird inadvertently comes across him... ....and now new choices must be made. Help him? At what cost? Or walk away? When is the wrong choice the right choice? I liked Bird as a lead character and her love for her son is well portrayed. The relationship between Bird and her Ma is quite fractious and in the first bit of the book, I could see both sides. But as the book progressed, their bickering grew tiresome and repetitive. Ma is quite religious, bordering on fanatical. When Bird reveals a horrific event from her past to her mother, Ma's reaction is downright shameful. And I ended up firmly in Bird's camp. But, there is much to be fixed in this relationship - on both sides. Galante explores many relationships in The Odds of You and Me with both the main players and the supporting cast - parent and child being in the forefront. There are a number of coincidences that drive the plot of this book, but who's to say serendipity doesn't exist? Or second chances? I was urging Bird on out loud many times - I wanted her to succeed. I had no idea where Galante was going to take the ending. I can't say it's the one I wanted, but it seems right.
Date published: 2017-02-16

Editorial Reviews

Praise for THE INVISISBLES: “In The Invisibles, Cecilia Galante artfully reminds us that even the most carefully constructed facade doesn’t stand a chance against the healing power of true friendship.”