The One

The One

Paperback | May 5, 2015

byKiera Cass

not yet rated|write a review

The beautifully romantic third book in Kiera Cass's #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series! The One will captivate readers who love dystopian YA fiction and fairy tales, and is perfect for fans of Veronica Roth's Divergent, Ally Condie's Matched, or Lauren Oliver's Delirium.

Entering the Selection changed America Singer's life in ways she never could have imagined. Since she arrived at the palace, America has struggled with her feelings for her first love, Aspen—and her growing attraction to Prince Maxon. Now she's made her choice . . . and she's prepared to fight for the future she wants.

Includes a sneak peek at The Heir, the highly anticipated fourth book in the Selection series!

Pricing and Purchase Info

$10.77 online
$12.50 list price (save 13%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

The One

Paperback | May 5, 2015
In stock online Available in stores
$10.77 online $12.50 (save 13%)

From the Publisher

The beautifully romantic third book in Kiera Cass's #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series! The One will captivate readers who love dystopian YA fiction and fairy tales, and is perfect for fans of Veronica Roth's Divergent, Ally Condie's Matched, or Lauren Oliver's Delirium.Entering the Selection changed America Singer's life i...

From the Jacket

The time has come for one winner to be crowned.When she was chosen to compete in the Selection, America never dreamed she would find herself anywhere close to the crown—or to Prince Maxon's heart. But as the end of the competition approaches, and the threats outside the palace walls grow more vicious, America realizes just how much she...

Kiera Cass is a graduate of Radford University and currently lives in Christiansburg, Virginia, with her family. She is the #1New York Timesbestselling author of the Selection series as well asThe Siren.

other books by Kiera Cass

The Crown
The Crown

Paperback|May 3 2016

$9.84 online$15.00list price(save 34%)
The Siren
The Siren

Hardcover|Jan 26 2016

$13.29 online$23.99list price(save 44%)
The Selection
The Selection

Paperback|Mar 26 2013

$10.61 online$12.50list price(save 15%)
see all books by Kiera Cass
Format:PaperbackDimensions:368 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.83 inPublished:May 5, 2015Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062060007

ISBN - 13:9780062060006


Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fun but requires a suspension of disbelief So ends the Selection. The end of the story was predictable but I don't think one can hold that against the author as it isn't a genre of book that requires a shocking twist. Knowing there are two more books that are about America's daughter you had to know where it was going. In that way it is satisfying because you get the ending you are expecting. I liked the wrap up mostly. There were a couple of things that seemed like they were thrown in in the last 50 pages for "game of thrones" shock value. This series is great, light fluff. It doesn't require you to think too hard and it isn't emotionally hard to consume. I enjoyed it for those reasons. If you can read books without depth without getting angry and frustrated then you might enjoy this one. It requires a lot of suspension of disbelief.
Date published: 2016-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i loved this this is such a wonderful emotional roller coaster with a beautiful ending
Date published: 2015-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really liked this I bought this a long time ago and finally read it and i don't regret it
Date published: 2015-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVEDDDD!!! I am not a crier, especially when it comes to books, but I seriously balled my eyes out. This series is so good! Sure America makes you want to punch her in the face but I just LOVE the series! One of my Favorited series ever! Defiantly recommend it!
Date published: 2015-11-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Review from This is the Story of My(Reading) Life Nope. Nope. Nope. I do not get the appeal of this series. What is the point of it? Seriously. Everything about it is so childish. I was going to write a full review but than realized it would be pretty much be reiterating everything I said in my The Elite review. America is still as petty and indecisive as ever. Maxon is still cowardly and unappealing. And what the hell was the point of Aspen? I experienced so much eye rolling well reading that I'm surprised my eyes didn't get stuck. Cass finally decides to try and delve into the world outside of the castle and explain why the rebels are constantly attacking. I don't know why I was expecting to actually get some solid world building(maybe you could call me hopeful) but that obviously didn't happen. There's so many holes. And some "nice" outsiders just conveniently show up and offer Maxon and America the help they need. Without really wanting anything in return. Sure. That's exactly what so much about this last installment was, convenient. Every situation that America found herself in just seemed to have a convenient solution. A random character(s) would show up and offer her answers and help for no apparent reason. And than there were some deaths. Those deaths were obviously for shock value. They didn't resonate with me. They were forced, unnecessary and hey guess what else? Convenient. I understand the appeal of a Cinderella story. I'm a girl after all. I love me a Disney princess movie. But this trilogy just doesn't do it for me. The story, characters, and dialogue are just to fake and juvenile that I can't picture myself in America's shoes falling for Prince Maxon. What I can picture myself doing is shoving them all inside the castle and setting it on fire. Ridding the world of lack luster personalities. To harsh?
Date published: 2015-08-07

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“A real page-turner. Romance, royalty, and revolution in a reality-show format serve Cass’ boldly rendered heroine well in her quest for justice and love.”