The Only Thing Worth Dying For: How Eleven Green Berets Forged a New Afghanistan

Hardcover | January 19, 2010

byEric Blehm

not yet rated|write a review

Eric Blehm, author of the award-winning The Last Season, is back with another true adventure story, The Only Thing Worth Dying For. Set in the immediate aftermath of 9/11, The Only Thing Worth Dying For chronicles the untold story of the team of Green Berets led by Captain Jason Amerine that conquered the Taliban and helped bring Hamid Karzai to power in Afghanistan. In the tradition of Black Hawk Down, The Only Thing Worth Dying For is, in the words of former Congressman Charlie Wilson (from Charlie Wilson's War), "the one book you must read if you have any hope of understanding what our fine American soldiers are up against in Afghanistan."

Pricing and Purchase Info

$24.17 online
$31.99 list price (save 24%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25

From the Publisher

Eric Blehm, author of the award-winning The Last Season, is back with another true adventure story, The Only Thing Worth Dying For. Set in the immediate aftermath of 9/11, The Only Thing Worth Dying For chronicles the untold story of the team of Green Berets led by Captain Jason Amerine that conquered the Taliban and helped bring Hamid...

From the Jacket

On a moonless night just weeks after September 11, 2001, U.S. Special Forces team ODA 574 infiltrates the mountains of southern Afghanistan with a seemingly impossible mission: to foment a tribal revolt and force the Taliban to surrender. Armed solely with the equipment they can carry on their backs, shockingly scant intelligence, and ...

Eric Blehm is the award-winning author of theNew York TimesbestsellersFearlessandThe Only Thing Worth Dying For. His first book,The Last Season, was the winner of the National Outdoor Book Award and was named byOutsidemagazine as one of the "greatest adventure biographies ever written." He has dedicated his life to telling the stories ...

other books by Eric Blehm

Fearless: The Undaunted Courage And Ultimate Sacrifice Of Navy Seal Team Six Operator Adam Brown
Fearless: The Undaunted Courage And Ultimate Sacrifice ...

Paperback|May 21 2013

$13.87 online$17.99list price(save 22%)
Legend: The Incredible Story Of Green Beret Sergeant Roy Benavidez's Heroic Mission To Rescue A…
Legend: The Incredible Story Of Green Beret Sergeant Ro...

Paperback|Apr 26 2016

$17.93 online$22.00list price(save 18%)
The Last Season
The Last Season

Paperback|Jan 30 2007

$13.97 online$18.50list price(save 24%)
see all books by Eric Blehm
Format:HardcoverDimensions:384 pages, 9 × 6 × 1.25 inPublished:January 19, 2010Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0061661228

ISBN - 13:9780061661228

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of The Only Thing Worth Dying For: How Eleven Green Berets Forged a New Afghanistan

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only thing worth dying for Loved it ! ..........................................................................................
Date published: 2015-01-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great read! Takes the reader right to Afghanistan and places him in the mission. Helps the reader better understand the brave heros that were there.
Date published: 2015-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Compelling This book hits on so many emotional levels and it is interesting to note that this book doesn't leave you the same. It causes you to understand the greater scheme of things. It also shows you how people of high ranking authority can make a mess. God bless the United States of America military.
Date published: 2013-02-16

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“A captivating account of our heroic warriors-a remarkable U.S. Army Special Forces unit’s hard-fought success against incredible odds. It reads with the thrill of fiction-but this is the damned deadly real deal.”