The Oresteia by AeschylusThe Oresteia by Aeschylus

The Oresteia

byAeschylusTranslated byHugh Lloyd-Jones

Paperback | May 16, 2014

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 110 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


The most famous series of ancient Greek plays, and the only surviving trilogy, is the Oresteia of Aeschylus, consisting of Agamemnon, Choephoroe, and Eumenides. These three plays recount the murder of Agamemnon by his queen Clytemnestra on his return from Troy with the captive Trojan princess Cassandra; the murder in turn of Clytemnestra by their son Orestes; and Orestes' subsequent pursuit by the Avenging Furies (Eumenides) and eventual absolution.

Hugh Lloyd-Jones's informative notes elucidate the text, and introductions to each play set the trilogy against the background of Greek religion as a whole and Greek tragedy in particular, providing a balanced assessment of Aeschylus's dramatic art.

This superior translation should be read by every student of Greek civilization, classical literature, and drama.
Hugh Lloyd-Joneswas Regius Professor of Greek at the University of Oxford and author of, among many titles,The Justice of Zeus(1983).
Title:The OresteiaFormat:PaperbackDimensions:288 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 0.69 inPublished:May 16, 2014Publisher:University of California PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0520282108

ISBN - 13:9780520282100


Table of Contents

The Choephoroe