The Orphans of Halfpenny Street (Halfpenny Orphans, Book 1)

Paperback | October 27, 2015

byCathy Sharp

not yet rated|write a review
Call the Midwife meets Dr Barnardo's in this gritty drama that will appeal to fans of Nadine Dorries and Kitty Neale.When there is nowhere else to turn, St Saviour's will give them hope.It's 1947 and London's East End is still a bombed-out landscape. Sister Beatrice, who runs the St Saviour's Children's Home, knows that life is still a precarious existence for many children and it seems that there is no end to the constant stream of waifs and strays who appear at their door looking for a safe haven.One such arrival is Mary Ellen whose mother is gravely ill. The one silver lining is her best friend, the tearaway Billy Baggins, also a resident of the home, but Billy seems intent on falling foul of Sister Beatrice's strict regime.New arrival on the staff, Angela, admires Sister Beatrice, but can see that the children need love and kindness as well as a strong hand. When an unwelcome face from Billy's past arrives on the scene, things are brought to a head. Can the two women work together to keep Billy on the straight and narrow - or is it too late?

Pricing and Purchase Info

$12.96 online
$12.99 list price
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25

From the Publisher

Call the Midwife meets Dr Barnardo's in this gritty drama that will appeal to fans of Nadine Dorries and Kitty Neale.When there is nowhere else to turn, St Saviour's will give them hope.It's 1947 and London's East End is still a bombed-out landscape. Sister Beatrice, who runs the St Saviour's Children's Home, knows that life is still a...

Cathy Sharp is happily married and lives with her husband in a small Cambridgeshire village. They like visiting Spain together and enjoy the benefits of sunshine and pleasant walks, while at home they love their garden and visiting the Norfolk seaside.Cathy loves writing because it gives pleasure to others, she finds writing an extensi...

other books by Cathy Sharp

A Daughter's Sorrow
A Daughter's Sorrow

Paperback|Mar 14 2017

$11.56 online$12.99list price(save 11%)
Christmas for the Halfpenny Orphans (Halfpenny Orphans, Book 3)
Christmas for the Halfpenny Orphans (Halfpenny Orphans,...

Paperback|Nov 22 2016

$16.96 online$16.99list price
A Daughter's Choice
A Daughter's Choice

Paperback|Mar 14 2017

$11.56 online$12.99list price(save 11%)
see all books by Cathy Sharp
Format:PaperbackDimensions:512 pagesPublished:October 27, 2015Publisher:HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERSLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0008118442

ISBN - 13:9780008118440

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of The Orphans of Halfpenny Street (Halfpenny Orphans, Book 1)

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

.