The Orphan's Tale: A Novel

February 21, 2017|
The Orphan's Tale: A Novel by Pam Jenoff
$29.99
Hardcover
Earn 150 plum® points
Ships free on orders over $35

In stock online

Not available in stores

Prices and offers may vary in store

about

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris.

A New York Times bestseller!

“Readers who enjoyed Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Sara Gruen’s Water for Elephants will embrace this novel. “ —Library Journal

A powerful novel of friendship set in a traveling circus during World War II, The Orphan’s Tale introduces two extraordinary women and their harrowing stories of sacrifice and survival

Sixteen-year-old Noa has been cast out in disgrace after becoming pregnant by a Nazi soldier and being forced to give up her baby. She lives above a small rail station, which she cleans in order to earn her keep… When Noa discovers a boxcar containing dozens of Jewish infants bound for a concentration camp, she is reminded of the child that was taken from her. And in a moment that will change the course of her life, she snatches one of the babies and flees into the snowy night.

Noa finds refuge with a German circus, but she must learn the flying trapeze act so she can blend in undetected, spurning the resentment of the lead aerialist, Astrid. At first rivals, Noa and Astrid soon forge a powerful bond. But as the facade that protects them proves increasingly tenuous, Noa and Astrid must decide whether their friendship is enough to save one another—or if the secrets that burn between them will destroy everything.

Look for these other sweeping epics from New York Times bestselling author Pam Jenoff.

The Lost Girls of Paris

The Ambassador’s Daughter

The Diplomat’s Wife

The Kommandant’s Girl

The Last Summer on Chelsea Beach

The Winter Guest
Pam Jenoff was born in Maryland and raised outside Philadelphia. She attended George Washington University in Washington, D.C., and Cambridge University in England where she earned her master's degree in history. She then was appointed as Special Assistenat to the Secretary of the Army. She worked helping victim's families of Pan Am Fl...
Loading
Title:The Orphan's Tale: A NovelFormat:HardcoverProduct dimensions:352 pages, 9.54 X 6.36 X 1.2 inShipping dimensions:352 pages, 9.54 X 6.36 X 1.2 inPublished:February 21, 2017Publisher:Mira BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:077833063X

ISBN - 13:9780778330639

Appropriate for ages: All ages

Look for similar items by category: