The Oxford Book of Childrens Verse in America

Paperback | December 1, 1994

EditorDonald Hall

not yet rated|write a review
Compiled by the award-winning poet and author of children's books, Donald Hall, this delightful anthology follows in the tradition of Iona and Peter Opie's classic Oxford Book of Children's Verse. Hall brings together poems written specifically for children and also those written for anyoneand enjoyed by children and adults alike. He presents over two hundred fifty poems written by over one hundred different American poets--including anonymous works, ballads, and recitation pieces--that range from the Calvinist verses of the seventeenth century to the fabulous nonsense poems of thepresent. Drawing on literally thousands of sources--including Sunday School magazines, Christmas annuals for children, and such wonderful children's periodicals as St. Nicholas and Youth's Companion--Hall gives the modern reader a rich sampling of many poems never before anthologized. He includes everyone'sfavorites, from Clement Clarke Moore's "A Visit from St. Nicholas" (a.k.a. "The Night Before Christmas") to the classic lines of Longfellow and Whittier. Along with Sarah Josepha Hale's famous poem, "Mary's Lamb," we find poetry by Emily Dickinson, Mary Mapes Dodge, Palmer Cox, Sarah Orne Jewett,Laura E. Richards, and Gelett Burgess. He also covers the twentieth-century with verse by T.S. Eliot, Edna St. Vincent Millay, Langston Hughes, Ogden Nash, Dr. Seuss (Theodore Geisel), and Randall Jarrell, just to name a few. Hall concludes with the poetry of present-day writers such as ShelSilverstein and Nancy Willard. A testament to a captivating tradition in American literature, this anthology will encourage many hours of nostalgic browsing and reading aloud to children.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$38.50

Ships within 1-3 weeks
Ships free on orders over $25

From the Publisher

Compiled by the award-winning poet and author of children's books, Donald Hall, this delightful anthology follows in the tradition of Iona and Peter Opie's classic Oxford Book of Children's Verse. Hall brings together poems written specifically for children and also those written for anyoneand enjoyed by children and adults alike. He p...

Donald Hall is the author of many books, including The Oxford Book of American Literary Anecdotes, Kicking the Leaves, The Man Who Lived Alone, Ox-Cart Man, Anecdotes of Modern Art (co-written with Pat Corrington Wykes), and the forthcoming Old and New Poems.

other books by Donald Hall

Ox-cart Man
Ox-cart Man

Hardcover|Oct 8 1979

$25.50

Dock Ellis in the Country of Baseball
Dock Ellis in the Country of Baseball

Paperback|Apr 15 1989

$23.98 online$26.95list price(save 11%)
see all books by Donald Hall
Format:PaperbackDimensions:368 pages, 7.99 × 5.31 × 0.71 inPublished:December 1, 1994Publisher:Oxford University Press

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0195067614

ISBN - 13:9780195067613

Appropriate for ages: 8 - 8

Customer Reviews of The Oxford Book of Childrens Verse in America

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

"Donald Hall has put together a long-needed treasure of a book. At a time when most poetry for children sounds as if it were written by a sponge dipped in sugared milk he has brought together the true best of a great and ignored tradition. I wish every American child could grow up with it. Iwish I had it as a child."--John Ciardi