The [Oxford India] Anthology of Bengali Literature: Volume I: 1861-1941 by Kalpana Bardhan

The [Oxford India] Anthology of Bengali Literature: Volume I: 1861-1941

EditorKalpana Bardhan

Hardcover | May 1, 2010

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 353 plum® points

Out of stock online

Not available in stores


The [Oxford India] Anthology of Bengali Literature: Volume I (1861-1941) spans a period of 80 years and includes the writings of some of the most representative figures in Bengali literature. Offering a judicious selection of a vast number of writers, the anthology includes works belonging toa wide range of genres including poetry, short story, novel, memoir, and essay, among others. The chronological listing of works by authors enables the readers to develop a sense of evolution of the various genres and sub-genres across the late nineteenth and early to mid twentieth centuries, whilesavouring this veritable feast of material. The volume is divided into three sections. The poetry section begins with Michael Madhusudan Datta (1824-73), includes the works of Rabindranath Tagore, Sukumar Ray, Jibanananda Das, Kazi Nazrul Islam, Buddhadeva Bose, and Bishnu Dey, among others, and ends with Samar Sen (1916-87). The section onshort fiction includes celebrated practitioners like Bankimchandra Chatterjee, Rabindranath Tagore, Abanindranath Thakur, and Sharatchandra Chatterjee, among several others. Rashsundari Devi, Debendranath Thakur, Jagadish Chandra Bose, and Indira Devi Chaudhurani are some of the names that figure inthe section on prose non-fiction.

About The Author

Kalpana Bardhan is Research Associate at the Center for South Asian Studies at the University of California, Berkeley.

Details & Specs

Title:The [Oxford India] Anthology of Bengali Literature: Volume I: 1861-1941Format:HardcoverDimensions:496 pages, 8.46 × 5.51 × 0.03 inPublished:May 1, 2010Publisher:Oxford University PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0198064624

ISBN - 13:9780198064626

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of The [Oxford India] Anthology of Bengali Literature: Volume I: 1861-1941


Extra Content

Table of Contents

IntroductionPoetryMichael Madhusudan DattaRabindranath Tagore/ThakurPriyambada DeviSukumar RayJibanananda DasKazi Nazrul IslamSudhindranath DattaJasim UddinBuddhadeva BoseBishnu DeySamar SenShort FictionBankimchandra ChatterjeeRabindranath TagoreSharatkumari ChaudhuraniUpendrakishore RoychaudhuriPramatha ChaudhuriAbanindranath ThakurPrabhatkumar MukhopadhyaySharatchandra ChatterjeeParashurama (Rajshekhar Bose)Jagadish GuptaBibhutibhushan BandyopadhyayJyotirmoyee Devi (Sen)Tarashankar BandyopadhyayJibanananda DasTarashankar BandyopadhyayJibanananda DasManik BandyopadhyayProse Non-FictionManik BandyopadhyayDebendranath ThakurBhudeb MukhopadhyayBankimchandra ChatterjeeKaliprasanna SinhaShibnath Shastri (Sivanath Sastri)Ramtanu LahiriJagadish Chandra BoseRabindranath TagorePramatha ChaudhuriBinodini DasiIndira Devi ChaudhuraniRokeya Sakhawat HossainS. Wajed AliSatyendra Nath BoseJibanananda DasSudhindranath DattaAcknowledgements