The Pagan Wall by David ArnasonThe Pagan Wall by David Arnason

The Pagan Wall

byDavid Arnason

Paperback | January 1, 1992

Pricing and Purchase Info

$24.95

Earn 125 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

Written in the tradition of Umberto Eco and Manuel Puig, The Pagan Wall is a first novel by a master storyteller. What appears on the surface as a murder mystery set in Alsatia and the Rhineland, involving international arms dealers, dangerous liaisons, and every other known mystery novel archetype, The Pagan Wall unfolds into layer upon layer of meanings, reversals, historical shifts, philosophical conundrums and linguistic puzzles. Filled with police inspectors quoting Lacan, the appearance of Martin Heidegger as a character, and whole passages of translated epistemology woven into the dialogue, Arnason's narrative disguises are so seamlessly accomplished that all readers, whether ardent mystery genre fans or exotic deconstructionists, will believe this story to be specifically written for them.
David Arnason David Arnason was born in Gimli, Manitoba, in 1940. His works include two collections of poetry, Marsh Burning and Skrag, and four collections of short stories: Fifty Stories and a Piece of Advice, The Circus Performer's Bar, The Happiest Man in the World and The Pagan Wall .
Letters To New Iceland
Letters To New Iceland

by David Arnason

$16.91$19.00

Pre-order online

Not yet available in stores

If Pigs Could Fly
If Pigs Could Fly

by David Arnason

$10.70$16.95

Ships within 3-5 weeks

Not available in stores

Nineteenth Century Canadian Stories
Nineteenth Century Canadian Stories

by David Arnason

$23.09$25.95

Ships within 3-5 weeks

Not available in stores

Shop this author
Title:The Pagan WallFormat:PaperbackDimensions:304 pages, 9 × 6 × 1 inPublished:January 1, 1992Publisher:Talon Books Ltd

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0889223122

ISBN - 13:9780889223127

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of The Pagan Wall

Reviews

From Our Editors

Written in the tradition of Umberto Eco and Manuel Puig, The Pagan Wall is a first novel by a master storyteller. What appears on the surface as a murder mystery set in Alsatia and the Rhineland, involving international arms dealers, dangerous liaisons, and every other known mystery novel archetype, The Pagan Wall unfolds into layer upon layer of meanings, reversals, historical shifts, philosophical conundrums and linguistic puzzles. Filled with police inspectors quoting Lacan, the appearance of Martin Heidegger as a character, and whole passages of translated epistemology woven into the dialogue, Arnason's narrative disguises are so seamlessly accomplished that all readers, whether ardent mystery genre fans or exotic deconstructionists, will believe this story to be specifically written for them.