The Pale Horseman (The Last Kingdom Series, Book 2) by Bernard Cornwell

The Pale Horseman (The Last Kingdom Series, Book 2)

byBernard Cornwell

Kobo ebook | July 24, 2009

Pricing and Purchase Info


Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores


BBC2’s major TV series THE LAST KINGDOM is based on Bernard Cornwell’s bestselling novels on the making of England and the fate of his great hero, Uhtred of Bebbanburg. THE PALE HORSEMAN is the second book in the series. Season 2 of the epic TV series premiers this March. When peace is torn apart by bloody Danish steel, Uhtred must fight to save a king who distrusts him. Skeptical of a treaty between the Vikings and Wessex, Uhtred takes his talent for mayhem to Cornwall, gaining treasure and a mysterious woman on the way. But when he is accused of massacring Christians, he finds lies can be as deadly as steel. Still, when pious King Alfred flees to a watery refuge, it is the pagan warrior he relies on. Now Uhtred must fight a battle which will shape history – and confront the Viking with the banner of the white horse … Uhtred of Bebbanburg’s mind is as sharp as his sword. A thorn in the side of the priests and nobles who shape his fate, this Saxon raised by Vikings is torn between the life he loves and those he has sworn to serve.

Title:The Pale Horseman (The Last Kingdom Series, Book 2)Format:Kobo ebookPublished:July 24, 2009Publisher:HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERSLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0007338821

ISBN - 13:9780007338825

Look for similar items by category:


Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just as good as the first book I love this series so far. The second in the series did not disappoint. Can't wait to start the third!
Date published: 2018-02-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The Pale Horseman Very enjoyable. The battle scenes are very well written.
Date published: 2014-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pale Horseman I thought book one was fantastic, the Pale Horseman managed to surpass it. I am moving to book three in the series.
Date published: 2014-04-21