The Paradise Guest House: A Novel by Ellen Sussman

The Paradise Guest House: A Novel

byEllen Sussman

Kobo ebook | March 26, 2013

Pricing and Purchase Info

$9.99

Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores

about

A riveting and poignant novel of one woman’s journey to Bali in search of love, renewal, and a place to call home—perfect for readers of Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love and Alex Garland’s The Beach.
 
It starts as a trip to paradise. Sent on assignment to Bali, Jamie, an American adventure guide, imagines spending weeks exploring the island’s lush jungles and pristine white sand beaches. Yet three days after her arrival, she is caught in Bali’s infamous nightclub bombings, which irreparably change her life and leave her with many unanswered questions.
 
One year later, haunted by memories, Jamie returns to Bali seeking a sense of closure. Most of all, she hopes to find Gabe, the man who saved her from the attacks. She hasn’t been able to forget his kindness—or the spark between them as he helped her heal. Checking into a cozy guest house for her stay, Jamie meets the kindly owner, who is coping with a painful past of his own, and a young boy who improbably becomes crucial to her search. Jamie has never shied away from a challenge, but a second chance with Gabe presents her with the biggest dilemma of all: whether she’s ready to open her heart.
 
Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.

Praise for The Paradise Guest House
 
“Two survivors of Bali’s terrorist bombing find love and spiritual rebirth on an island whose inhabitants believe in reincarnation in Sussman’s touching panorama of paradise. . . . Throughout, Sussman celebrates lovers, quiet healing, and the sweetness of the island and its people.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“A story of healing and redemption, of finding love in the most unexpected places, and of the importance of moving forward . . . Sussman has drawn a vivid, well-balanced portrait of a woman and a country working to recover from an unimaginable event and a very personal look at a global tragedy.”—Booklist
* *
“Echoing Bali’s difficult recovery from [the 2002 terrorist bombing], the characters tread the difficult terrain of post-traumatic attachment. . . . A respectful and earnest . . . treatment of devastation’s aftermath.”—Kirkus Reviews
* *
“[A] moving story about making sense of life after a tragedy . . . This touching tale will cause contemplation about what closure truly means.”—RT Book Reviews

Title:The Paradise Guest House: A NovelFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:March 26, 2013Publisher:Random House Publishing GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0345522826

ISBN - 13:9780345522825

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Beach Read Adventure guide Jamie Hyde, the infamous nightclub bombing in Bali was more than a news story. Jamie witnessed firsthand the explosion and the horrors of the bomb's aftermath. After helping to rescue several victims, Jamie herself was rescued by expat Gabe Winters, who subsequently played an important role in her recovery. One year later, Jamie returns to Bali to attend a ceremony marking the anniversary of the tragedy, hoping to find closure and thank the man who saved her. While in Bali, Jamie discovers a country still reeling from the brutal attacks. She also finds support from guest-house owner Nyoman and from Bambang, a street thief who helps her find the elusive Gabe. Ellen Sussman writes a beautiful story of a woman and a country working to recover from an terrible event and a very close look at a global tragedy. This story was about healing and redemption, of finding love, and of the importance of moving forward. This is the first book I read by this author and I loved it. The writing was easy flowing, the description of Bali was bright and vivid, the characters are well developed, you feel their pain and you are on their journey to recovery. And the love story between Jamie and Gabe was simple and beautiful. A must read book by all.
Date published: 2017-10-04

From the Author

A riveting and poignant novel of one woman’s journey to Bali in search of love, renewal, and a place to call home—perfect for readers of Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love and Alex Garland’s The Beach.It starts as a trip to paradise. Sent on assignment to Bali, Jamie, an American adventure guide, imagines spending weeks exploring the island’s lush jungles and pristine white sand beaches. Yet three days after her arrival, she is caught in Bali’s infamous nightclub bombings, which irreparably change her life and leave her with many unanswered questions.One year later, haunted by memories, Jamie returns to Bali seeking a sense of closure. Most of all, she hopes to find Gabe, the man who saved her from the attacks. She hasn’t been able to forget his kindness—or the spark between them as he helped her heal. Checking into a cozy guest house for her stay, Jamie meets the kindly owner, who is coping with a painful past of his own, and a young boy who improbably becomes crucial to her search. Jamie has never shied away from a challenge, but a second chance with Gabe presents her with the biggest dilemma of all: whether she’s ready to open her heart.Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.Praise for The Paradise Guest House“Two survivors of Bali’s terrorist bombing find love and spiritual rebirth on an island whose inhabitants believe in reincarnation in Sussman’s touching panorama of paradise. . . . Throughout, Sussman celebrates lovers, quiet healing, and the sweetness of the island and its people.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review)“A story of healing and redemption, of finding love in the most unexpected places, and of the importance of moving forward . . . Sussman has drawn a vivid, well-balanced portrait of a woman and a country working to recover from an unimaginable event and a very personal look at a global tragedy.”—Booklist“Echoing Bali’s difficult recovery from [the 2002 terrorist bombing], the characters tread the difficult terrain of post-traumatic attachment. . . . A respectful and earnest . . . treatment of devastation’s aftermath.”—Kirkus Reviews“[A] moving story about making sense of life after a tragedy . . . This touching tale will cause contemplation about what closure truly means.”—RT Book Reviews