The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Kobo ebook | June 29, 2010

byStephen Chbosky

not yet rated|write a review
A feature film in 2012 starring Logan Lerman, Emma Watson, and Paul Rudd and written and directed by the author—the provocative and poignant “coming-of-age tale in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Separate Peace” (USA TODAY) that has affected an entire generation of young people.

Standing on the fringes of life offers a unique perspective. But there comes a time to see what it looks like from the dance floor. This haunting novel about the dilemma of passivity vs. passion has become a modern classic.

     The Perks of Being a Wallflower is the story of what it’s like to grow up in high school. More intimate than a diary, Charlie’s letters are singular and unique, hilarious and devastating. We may not know where he lives or to whom he is writing. All we know is the world he shares. Caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it puts him on a strange course through uncharted territory. The world of first dates and mixed tapes, family dramas and new friends. The world of sex, drugs, and music—when all one requires to feel infinite is that perfect song on that perfect drive.

     Through Charlie, Stephen Chbosky has created a deeply affecting story, a powerful novel that will spirit you back to those wild and poignant roller coaster days known as growing up.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$16.99

Available for download
Not available in stores

The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Kobo ebook | June 29, 2010
Available for download Not available in stores
$16.99

From the Publisher

A feature film in 2012 starring Logan Lerman, Emma Watson, and Paul Rudd and written and directed by the author—the provocative and poignant “coming-of-age tale in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Separate Peace” (USA TODAY) that has affected an entire generation of young people.Standing on the fringes of life offers a uni...

Format:Kobo ebookPublished:June 29, 2010Publisher:Mtv BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1439122431

ISBN - 13:9781439122433

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Reviews

Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awful I will never understand the hype over this book! It was absolutely boring and I found the main character incredibly annoying. I found myself waiting for something substantial to happen through the entire story... and it never did. TOTAL let down.
Date published: 2015-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING I absoulutley am in LOVE with this book!!! ITS SO INTERESTING! everythin about charlie and his friends & family!
Date published: 2015-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Insightful As someone who suffers from depression, this book was so insightful into how it feels. The characters were so developed and realistic. The climax of the story was surprising. I have often found many books of this nature will level me in tears, but this sad story was not depressing but uplifting
Date published: 2015-08-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good It has its own kind of magic, it feels light and lovely. Charlie makes it so easy to care for his character, so memorable.
Date published: 2014-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Such a relatable book, I love it :-)
Date published: 2014-09-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Clueless I wasn't allowed to read the book because of a part in the book so would someone mind telling me what the book was about?
Date published: 2014-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Perks of Being a Wallflower LOVED this book, very unexpected ending
Date published: 2014-05-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from so so okay, I guess, not too big a deal though, appreciated the humour and stuff, but got a bit bored with the protagonist
Date published: 2014-05-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Perks of Being a Wallflower Excellent narrative voice, although perhaps a little too reminiscent of Holden Caulfield. Still, well written.
Date published: 2014-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Perks of Being a Wallflower A brilliant book brimming with teenage tension and struggles. Certainly one to read!
Date published: 2014-01-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Perks of Being a Wallflower A fantastic ageless story of teen angst. Anyone who lived through their teens in the 80's will appreciate the cultural references, particularly the music. This book would do well on a middle school reading list, but conservative parents may disagree.
Date published: 2014-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Perks of Being a Wallflower I loved it. This story is very engaging right to the end :) Great coming of age story.
Date published: 2014-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Perks of Being a Wallflower Very good book and seen the movie too. Agree it is for older audiences.
Date published: 2014-01-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Perks of Being a Wallflower I really love this book it is one of my favorites, i love that the author targets older children(Teenagers) as its hard to find a book to get engrossed in because you cant understand that language or its very childish. Overall, i love this book and never get bored of re-reading it
Date published: 2014-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Perks of Being a Wallflower An amazing series of letters from freshman Charlie. It chronicles his year of school, past, friendship, and relationships.
Date published: 2014-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Perks of Being a Wallflower I absolutely loved this. It affected me on a deep emotional level.
Date published: 2014-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Perks of Being a Wallflower I really enjoyed to read this book. I Loved it from beggining to end.
Date published: 2014-01-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Perks of Being a Wallflower It was very well written but had a lot of sexual things in it!!! Defiantly for older teens!!!
Date published: 2014-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perks of being a wallflower The book perfectly displays what being a teen is like. From how the main character is not prejudice about people and problems, really opens up your view on life and people. This book shows that even though you might think people are really weird, they are actually all just beautiful people in their own way. You just don't know them or what they have been through yet.
Date published: 2014-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Amazing book. So emotional. Somewhat like the movie but not. Loved this book as much as I did the movie. Easy 5 stars!!!
Date published: 2014-01-14