The Persian Of Thunder Bay

Paperback | March 6, 2018

byNancy Mauro

not yet rated|write a review
In the tradition of The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay, White Teeth and Everything Is Illuminated, a delightful, perceptive second novel from an incredible young talent about the fundamentals of life: ambition, transgression and doughnuts.
 
Sabine DiPasquale wants nothing to do with her family's bakery business--much less with the Persian, a wildly popular doughnut that's caught the country's imagination and which is still handcrafted exclusively by her father. It's the early 1970s when an incident in the bakery prompts Sabine to withdraw from her family and vow to never set foot in the building again.
 
Ten years later, her father's untimely death forces her from solitude to reckon with a family crisis of newsworthy proportions. As the baker's only child, she's expected to sell her inherited third of the business to her uncles. But when her father takes the highly prized secret of the Persian's mysterious pink icing to the grave, this sparks a media frenzy in the small city of Thunder Bay--and leads Sabine to some unexpected discoveries. Confronted with losing everything her father staked his life on, Sabine begins to unravel the twisted, deeply hidden truth about her family's rise to prominence, her father's business dealings and the pastry at the centre of it all.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$22.94 online
$22.95 list price
Pre-order online
Ships free on orders over $25

From the Publisher

In the tradition of The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay, White Teeth and Everything Is Illuminated, a delightful, perceptive second novel from an incredible young talent about the fundamentals of life: ambition, transgression and doughnuts. Sabine DiPasquale wants nothing to do with her family's bakery business--much less with ...

NANCY MAURO is the author of the critically acclaimed debut novel New World Monkeys, and has worked as a copywriter and creative director in the US and in Canada. She is a Fellow and graduate of the MFA writing programme at UBC. Her fiction and non-fiction have appeared in several literary magazines, newspapers and anthologies. This is...

other books by Nancy Mauro

New World Monkeys: A Novel
New World Monkeys: A Novel

Kobo ebook|Sep 15 2009

$11.99

New World Monkeys: A Novel
New World Monkeys: A Novel

Paperback|Sep 7 2010

$16.00

Format:PaperbackDimensions:352 pages, 9.25 × 6.25 × 0.98 inPublished:March 6, 2018Publisher:Random House Of CanadaLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0307359751

ISBN - 13:9780307359759

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of The Persian Of Thunder Bay

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Nancy Mauro is a writer of rare and refined talent. . . .With her flawless prose she opens bare the hearts of her characters, their vain desires and everyday tragedies.”
—Anthony Swofford, New York Times bestselling author of Jarhead and Exit A