The Poisoned Chalice (Tudor Mysteries, Book 2): Secrets, espionage and double agents in this gripping Tudor mystery

Kobo ebook | November 27, 2012

The Poisoned Chalice (Tudor Mysteries, Book 2): Secrets, espionage and double agents in this gripping Tudor mystery
$2.99
Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores

about

Rodger and Benjamin are sent to Paris on a secret errand of state importance...

Violent death, danger and treachery abound in The Poisoned Chalice, the second journal of the incorrigible Roger Shallot from acclaimed historical author, Paul Doherty. Perfect for fans of Ellis Peters and Susannah Gregory.

In 1521, England is at peace under the magnificent Cardinal Wolsey, who rules the country while Henry VIII spends his time in masques, banquets and hunting, whether it be the fleet-footed deer or the even more delicious quarry of the silken-garbed ladies of the court.
But Richard Falconer, chief secretary of the English embassy in Paris, has been found mysteriously murdered. Wolsey believes that Falconer's death is connected with the disturbing news that there is a spy in the English court, or in its embassy in Paris, passing information to King Francis I of France. He summons his nephew, Benjamin Daunbey, and the wayward Roger Shallot to investigate. The only clue is the spy's code name, 'Raphael'.
King Henry has secret instructions of his own before the pair journey to Paris: to retrieve a precious ring, the subject of a wager, and a certain book that the King does not want to fall into enemy hands. They are not to return to England without them.

What readers are saying about The Poisoned Chalice:
'Shallot is a superb character, and his voice is once again portrayed convincingly'
'The story moves along briskly, sprinkled liberally with foul murder, to an unexpectedly sensitive and touching ending'
'Paul Doherty seems to be able to turn his hand to virtually any century in history'

Title:The Poisoned Chalice (Tudor Mysteries, Book 2): Secrets, espionage and double agents in this grippi...Format:Kobo ebookPublished:November 27, 2012Publisher:HeadlineLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0755397762

ISBN - 13:9780755397761

Appropriate for ages: All ages

Look for similar items by category: