The Poppy Wife: A Novel Of The Great War

byCaroline ScottRead byCaroline Tbd

Audio Book (CD) | November 5, 2019

The Poppy Wife: A Novel Of The Great War by Caroline Scott
$51.95
Earn 260 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

Ships within 3-5 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

In the tradition of Jennifer Robson and Hazel Gaynor, this unforgettable debut novel is a sweeping tale of forbidden love, profound loss, and the startling truth of the broken families left behind in the wake of World War I.

1921. Survivors of the Great War are desperately trying to piece together the fragments of their broken lives. While many have been reunited with their loved ones, Edie's husband Francis has not come home. Francis is presumed to have been killed in action, but Edie believes he might still be alive.

Harry, Francis's brother, was there the day Francis was wounded. He was certain it was a fatal wound-that he saw his brother die-but as time passes, Harry begins questioning his memory of what happened. Could Francis, like many soldiers, merely be lost and confused somewhere? Hired by grieving families, Harry returns to the Western Front to photograph gravesites. As he travels through battle-scarred France and Belgium gathering news for British wives and mothers, he searches for evidence of Francis.

When Edie receives a mysterious photograph of Francis, she is more convinced than ever he might still be alive. And so, she embarks on a journey in the hope of finding some trace of her husband. Is he truly gone? And if he isn't, then why hasn't he come home?

As Harry and Edie's paths converge, they get closer to the truth about Francis and, as they do, are faced with the life-changing impact of the answers they discover.

Artful and incredibly moving, The Poppy Wife tells the unforgettable story of the soldiers lost amid the chaos and ruins, and those who were desperate to find them.

Title:The Poppy Wife: A Novel Of The Great WarFormat:Audio Book (CD)Product dimensions:7.5 X 5.3 X 1 inShipping dimensions:7.5 X 5.3 X 1 inPublished:November 5, 2019Publisher:Blackstone PublishingLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1094027294

ISBN - 13:9781094027296

Appropriate for ages: All ages

Look for similar items by category: