The Porcupine Year

August 25, 2008|
The Porcupine Year by Louise Erdrich
$13.99 save 10%
Earn 63 plum® points
1% of net proceeds from this book helps children in high-needs communities through the Indigo Love of Reading Foundation
Buy Online
Ship to an address
Ships within 1-2 weeks.Free shipping on orders over $35
Pick up in store
To see if pickup is available,
Find In Store
Not sold in stores
Prices and offers may vary in store


“Omakayas was no longer a little girl. She was that creature somewhere between a child and a woman ... a girl who’d come to know something of her strength and who wanted challenge.”
From The Porcupine Year

In the third book of her captivating series, Louise Erdrich continues the remarkable story of Omakayas, a young Ojibwe girl living in the mid-1800s. Omakayas and her family are on the move as white settlers force them west. It’s a harrowing journey that pushes the family to the brink of survival.
    Richly imagined, The Porcupine Year completes the trilogy based on the life of Omakayas, which began with The Birchbark House, a National Book Award Finalist, and continued with The Game of Silence, winner of the Scott O’Dell Award for Historical Fiction. Another trilogy, about Omakayas’s children, and a final trilogy, about her grandchildren, will complete the powerful series that is based on Louise Erdrich’s own family history. Charming black-and-white illustrations by the author bring this amazing family vividly to life.

The daughter of a full-blooded Chippewa, Louise Erdrich was born on July 6, 1954 in Little Falls, Minnesota, the daughter of Ralph and Rita Erdrich, both of whom were employed by the Bureau of Indian Affairs. Erdrich's heritage may explain her focus and interest in the Native Americans who populate her writing. In speaking of her child...
Title:The Porcupine Year
Product dimensions:256 pages, 8 X 5.31 X 0.54 in
Shipping dimensions:256 pages, 8 X 5.31 X 0.54 in
Published:August 25, 2008
Appropriate for ages:All ages
ISBN - 13:9780006393917

Recently Viewed