The Practice of Philosophy: Handbook for Beginners by Jay F. RosenbergThe Practice of Philosophy: Handbook for Beginners by Jay F. Rosenberg

The Practice of Philosophy: Handbook for Beginners

byJay F. Rosenberg

Paperback | August 1, 1995

Pricing and Purchase Info

$67.10 online 
$74.55 list price
Earn 336 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Out of stock online

Not available in stores


Based on the author's nearly 30 years' of teaching introductory philosophy — and his observations of where beginning readers run into difficulty — this compact “primer” gives readers the basic tools they need to explore philosophical reading and writing for the first time. Provides insights and strategies for helping readers get started with reading, thinking about, and discussing philosophical concepts and writing short philosophical essays about what they've been reading and thinking; includes a new chapter that illustrates techniques for probing beneath the expository surface of a given question to uncover the inevitable structure of presuppositions and problems underlying it.

Title:The Practice of Philosophy: Handbook for BeginnersFormat:PaperbackDimensions:133 pages, 8.9 × 6 × 0.6 inPublished:August 1, 1995Publisher:Pearson Education

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0132308487

ISBN - 13:9780132308489


Table of Contents


 1. The Philosophical Impulse and Where It Leads.

 2. Philosophy in Action: A Case Study.

 3. Engaging the Argument: Form.

 4. Minding One's Modifiers: Form with Finesse.

 5. Engaging the Argument: Content.

First Intermission.

 6. Philosophical Essays: Critical Examination of a View.

 7. Five Ways to Criticize a Philosopher.

 8. Definitions, Analogies, and Thought Experiments.

Second Intermission.

 9. Philosophical Essays: Adjudication of a Dispute.

10. Philosophical Essays: Solving a Problem.

11. Diving for Questions: Beneath the Expository Surface.

12. Philosophical Essays: Defense of an Original Thesis.

13. Six Ways to Read a Philosopher.





Notes to the Passages.