The Princess And The Goblin by George MacdonaldThe Princess And The Goblin by George Macdonald

The Princess And The Goblin

byGeorge MacdonaldForeword byJoseph Delaney

Paperback | January 1, 2014

Pricing and Purchase Info

$16.99

Earn 85 plum® points
Quantity:

Ships within 1-2 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Full of exquisite moonlit scenes that play out like dreams and underground escapades descending into nightmare, this is a must-read for all fantasy aficionados and fans of Tolkien, Lewis, and Rowling

Eight-year-old Princess Irene lives a lonely life in a wild, desolate, mountainous kingdom, with only her nursemaid Lootie for company. She is protected from the outside world and oblivious to the existence of goblins, hideous creatures that live underground and only come out at night. One day, while out walking, Irene and Lootie get lost. As night falls, strange shadows creep out from under boulders and around corners, closing in on them. Terrified, they try to run but the goblins give chase. It is then they run into Curdie, the brave miner's son who knows how to scare the goblins away. He leads the pair to safety, back to the castle. While working late one night in the mines Curdie overhears the goblins' diabolical plan. The terrible goblin Queen plans to kidnap the princess and force her to marry her son, so humans will be forced to accept goblins as their rulers. Can they be stopped and the kingdom be saved before it is too late? Before the creation of Middle Earth or Narnia, George MacDonald was inventing wonderful kingdoms and populating them with magical creatures and enchanted beings, such as this unique, compelling fantasy.

George MacDonald (1824–1905) was a Scottish author known particularly for his poignant fairy tales and fantasy novels. He inspired many authors, such as W.H. Auden, J. R. R. Tolkien, C. S. Lewis, E. Nesbit, and Madeleine L'Engle. Joseph Delaney is the author of The Last Apprentice series.
Loading
Title:The Princess And The GoblinFormat:PaperbackDimensions:224 pages, 8 × 5 × 0.68 inPublished:January 1, 2014Publisher:Hesperus PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1843914751

ISBN - 13:9781843914754

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great story! A great fairy tale like story about magic and goblins. Fans of Narnia, Middle-Earth and other classic style fantasy will enjoy this book.
Date published: 2017-10-28

Editorial Reviews

"The Princess and the Goblin and The Princess and Curdie are two of the most unusual and haunting fairy tales ever written." —Guardian