The Priory Of The Orange Tree by Samantha ShannonThe Priory Of The Orange Tree by Samantha Shannon

The Priory Of The Orange Tree

bySamantha Shannon

Hardcover | February 26, 2019

Pricing and Purchase Info

$36.11 online 
$40.00 list price save 9%
Earn 181 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

From the internationally bestselling author of The Bone Season, "an epic feminist fantasy perfect for fans of Game of Thrones" (Bustle).

A world divided.
A queendom without an heir.
An ancient enemy awakens.

The House of Berethnet has ruled Inys for a thousand years. Still unwed, Queen Sabran the Ninth must conceive a daughter to protect her realm from destruction--but assassins are getting closer to her door.

Ead Duryan is an outsider at court. Though she has risen to the position of lady-in-waiting, she is loyal to a hidden society of mages. Ead keeps a watchful eye on Sabran, secretly protecting her with forbidden magic.

Across the dark sea, Tané has trained all her life to be a dragonrider, but is forced to make a choice that could see her life unravel.

Meanwhile, the divided East and West refuse to parley, and forces of chaos are rising from their sleep.

Samantha Shannon studied English Language and Literature at St. Anne's College, Oxford. The Bone Season, the first in a seven-book series, was a New York Times bestseller and the inaugural Today Book Club selection. Film and TV rights were acquired by the Imaginarium Studios. The Mime Order followed in 2015 and The Song Rising in 2017....
Loading
Title:The Priory Of The Orange TreeFormat:HardcoverDimensions:848 pages, 9.37 × 6.71 × 2.4 inPublished:February 26, 2019Publisher:Bloomsbury USALanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1635570298

ISBN - 13:9781635570298

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Feminist Fantasy you NEED Samantha Shannon is one of my FAVOURITE authors. I’ve read the three books that are out in The Bone Season septology MULTIPLE TIMES and I’m OBSESSED. I follow her on social media and I’d been hearing about a world filled with dragons and female power for a while and while I was excited, it wasn’t until I saw that JAW-DROPPING cover that I knew, with all certainty, that I WOULD DEFINITELY BE READING THIS BOOK. So, when Bloomsbury India send me an advance copy, I jumped in joy and dived in almost immediately. IN A NUTSHELL: The Priory of the Orange Tree is one of the BEST fantasy novels I’ve read in a while, especially in terms of world-building. The religions, the kingdoms and the politics usually don’t intrigue me as much as the characters do, but Priory was a perfect blend of it all. I was as invested in the fate of the kingdom and the people as I was in the characters narrating the story. I loved the magic, the dragons, the lore, the romance, the friendship and the political intrigue. In a nutshell, that ended up being no so nutshell-y, The Priory of the Orange Tree was everything I expected it to be AND MORE. THINGS I LOVED: 1. EAD AND SABRAN. These two were my FAVOURITE characters and I loved them and their story. 2. In this world, both same and different sex partners and were the norm, except for royalty because of the whole line of succession reason, but companionship was based on love, not society-based gender constructs and it was wonderful 3. THE WATER DRAGONS WERE BRILLIANT and I LOVED Tane and her dragon’s story. 4. THE WORLD, THE RELIGIONS AND THE PALACES were all brilliant. I cannot describe how much I became a part of this world while reading this 800-page beauty, but I did. It was probably the most “I’m a part of this world now” experience I’ve ever had. THINGS I DIDN’T LOVE AS MUCH: 1. Niclays Roos and his storyline seemed like filler at best. I enjoyed it FOR A WHILE, but by the time I reached the 300s, I was ready to skip past his story. 2. The ending was slightly… unrealistic. After all the build-up, I expected something MORE or at least more REAL but this wasn’t. If you’ve seen this book around, you’re probably thinking – this book is HUGE, this cover is beautiful but will I be able to conquer it? Trust me, even though it took me 100 or so pages to get familiar with the world and the characters, The Priory of the Orange Tree is an all-engrossing, queer, #girlpower filled fantasy that you NEED TO READ. Welcome to the Queendom and the obsession.
Date published: 2019-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Masterpiece Samantha Shannon is the queen of world building! The world and plot are so intricate and this is the best fantasy I've read in a while!
Date published: 2019-02-22

Editorial Reviews

"Mesmerizing." -Washington Post"A timelessly relevant classic. Brilliant, diverse, feminist, subversive, thought-provoking, and masterfully told, The Priory of the Orange Tree is an absolute must-read." -Karen Marie Moning, #1 NYT bestselling author of the Highlander and Fever series"An astonishing achievement." -Marie Brennan, award-winning author of The Memoirs of Lady Trent series"A brilliant, daring, and devastating jewel . . . An incredible world full of depth and danger, with characters I would follow to the ends of the earth. I'm in awe of [Shannon's] talent." -Victoria Aveyard, #1 NYT bestselling author of the Red Queen series"An epic fantasy destined to be a classic." -Kami Garcia, #1 NYT bestselling coauthor of Beautiful Creatures and author of Unbreakable"This magnificent epic of queens, dragonriders, and badass secret wyrm-slaying priestesses is a tour de force, and my new absolute favorite epic fantasy." -Laini Taylor, NYT bestselling author of the Strange the Dreamer and Daughter of Smoke and Bone series"The Platonic Ideal of a fantasy novel . . . This story of good and evil, struggle and triumph, love and loss and return is beautifully written: complex but clear, and utterly immersive. I loved this book." -Nicola Griffith, award-winning author of Hild"Spellbinding . . . extraordinary . . . A well-drawn feminist fantasy with broad appeal for fans of the epic and readers of Zen Cho, Naomi Novik, and V. E. Schwab. Highly recommended." -Booklist, starred review"A celebration of fantasy that melds modern ideology with classic tropes. More of these dragons, please." -Kirkus Reviews, starred review"Shannon satisfyingly fills this massive standalone epic fantasy with court intrigue, travel through dangerous lands, fantastical religions, blood, love, and rhetoric." -Publishers Weekly"The Priory of the Orange Tree isn't our grandfathers' epic fantasy novel. It is a clever combination of Elizabethan England, the legend of St. George and Eastern dragon lore, with a dash of Tolkien. Shannon's feminist saga has enough detailed world-building, breath-taking action and sweeping romance to remind epic fantasy readers of why they love the genre in the first place. Modern sensibilities integrate seamlessly with genre tropes . . . Readers will beg for a sequel." -Shelf Awareness"An epic feminist fantasy perfect for fans of 'Game of Thrones' . . . A rich and engaging high fantasy novel that puts women and their stories front and center, The Priory of the Orange Tree will pull you into its magical world from the first page." - Bustle"An intricately realized and feminist fantasy . . . one might even be tempted to dub Samantha Shannon, 'The female George R.R. Martin. " -Hypable"A fascinating epic fantasy set in a rich, well-developed world. Shannon has created fertile narrative ground." - New York Review of Books