The Promise Of Dawn by Lauraine SnellingThe Promise Of Dawn by Lauraine Snelling

The Promise Of Dawn

byLauraine Snelling

Hardcover | August 2, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 210 plum® points

Ships within 1-2 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


A CBA Bestselling AuthorRT Career Achievement Award-winnerUnder Northern Skies (Book 1)In the opening of a new series, Signe, her husband Rune, and their three boys arrive in Minnesota from Norway to help a relative clear his land. They dream of owning their own farm, but Uncle Einar and Aunt Gird are demanding - and Signe and her family soon find themselves worked nearly to the bone just to repay the cost of their voyage.
Lauraine Snelling began her career writing children's books. Her first book, Tragedy on the Toutle, was published in 1982. She wrote the High Hurdles series and The Golden Filly series before turning her focus to inspirational romances for adults. Her works include the Red River of the North family saga, Return to Red River trilogy the...
Title:The Promise Of DawnFormat:HardcoverDimensions:526 pages, 8.8 × 6.1 × 1.7 inPublished:August 2, 2017Publisher:Thorndike PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:143284122X

ISBN - 13:9781432841225

Look for similar items by category:


Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can I give this 10 stars? I have read a lot of books. I recall a movie, although not the title, where characters come alive and then freeze where they are when the reader stops reading. Most books are like this, quietly waiting to be picked up again, but Lauraine Snelling’s characters seem to continue to live after the book is put down – and I eagerly look forward to peering through the looking glass again to see what they’ve been up to. Ingeborg’s cousin is still in Norway and has long waited to see her again. Her sister Gird is married and has gone to America, earning land and building a homestead. They need help, sending for her oldest son Rune and his family to join them. Ready and willing to work hard to repay them yet also earn some land and a home for themselves in this land of opportunity, they sail over – but nothing is easy anywhere along the way. They enter a loveless home and Uncle Einar and Aunt Gird expect way too much from them, with little thanks, but Rune and Signe – and their children - have strong values and deliver 110%. Clearing the large trees is a dangerous job and when overworked it becomes more so. Because Uncle Einar is so single minded about getting the trees cleared, Aunt Gird is very ill and the household has gone severely downhill. Plus, for some reason the community does not welcome Rune and his family. Standing firm on strength and kindness, their faith grows stronger through the difficulties and threads its way to the others who surround them. I wish I could give Lauraine’s books 10 stars – I can’t recommend them highly enough. They are get-lost-in-and-fully-enjoy stories where you can clearly picture the characters and settings. As always, I eagerly look forward to the next book in the series! I really like the references to Ingeborg as I know she is living a full life not far from Signe and Rune in her piece of America. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the Bethany House Publishers - Netgalley book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Date published: 2017-07-31