The Pump

September 7, 2021|
The Pump by Sydney Hegele
$20.78 
$20.95
Paperback
Earn 104 plum® points
Buy Online
Ship to an address
Free shipping on orders over $35
Pick up in store
To see if pickup is available,
Find In Store
To check store inventory,
Prices and offers may vary in store

about

Winner of the 2022 ReLit Awards
Finalist for the 2022 Trillium Book Award

A Gothic collection of stories featuring carnivorous beavers, art-eaters, and family intrigue, for fans of Alice Munro and Shirley Jackson

The small southern Ontario town known as The Pump lies at the crossroads of this world's violence-a tainted water supply, an apathetic municipal government, the Gothic decay of rural domesticity-and another's.

In Hegele's interconnected stories, no one is immune to The Pump's sacrificial games. Lighthouse dwellers, Boy Scouts, queer church camp leaders, love-sick and sick-sick writers, nine-year-old hunters, art-eaters-each must navigate the swamp of their own morality while living on land that is always slowly (and sometimes very quickly) killing them.

"An inescapable, ferocious dream of a book. Good luck getting out."-John Elizabeth Stintzi, author of Vanishing Monuments

"[The] writing is beautiful... Nightmarish and yet somehow fantastical."-This Magazine

Sydney Hegele (nee Brooman) (they/them) was raised in Grimsby, Ontario. They attended Western University in London, Ontario, and currently live in Toronto. The Pump is their debut short fiction collection. Their story The Bottom" was shortlisted for The Malahat Review's 2020 Open Season Awards, and they have recent work in America...
Loading
Title:The Pump
Format:Paperback
Product dimensions:144 pages, 8 X 5 X 0.02 in
Shipping dimensions:144 pages, 8 X 5 X 0.02 in
Published:September 7, 2021
Publisher:Invisible Publishing
Language:English
Appropriate for ages:All ages
ISBN - 13:9781988784793

Recently Viewed
|