The Punishing Journey Of Arthur Delaney: A Novel

June 7, 2022|
The Punishing Journey Of Arthur Delaney: A Novel by Bob Kroll
$22.95
Paperback
Earn 115 plum® points
Buy Online
Ship to an address
Free shipping on orders over $35
Pick up in store
To see if pickup is available,
Find In Store
To check store inventory,
Prices and offers may vary in store

about

For readers of Paulette Jiles and Gil Adamson, a 19th-century tale of a father''s greatest regret and path to redemption

Devastated at his wife''s death and stricken at raising two girls and a boy on his own, Arthur Delaney places his children in a Halifax orphanage and runs off to join the Union Army in the American Civil War. The trauma of battle and three years in a disease-ridden prisoner-of-war prison changes his perspective on life and family.

After the war, Delaney odd-jobs his way up the American east coast and catches a schooner to Halifax. There he discovers the orphanage has relocated to a farm in rural Nova Scotia. His children are not there. They and others had been sold and resold as farm workers and house servants through the Maritime provinces, as well as Quebec and Ontario. Their whereabouts is unknown. Arthur Delaney sets out on a punishing 20-year journey across Canada to find them.

This is a heartbreaking, beautifully told story of a father''s attempt to reconnect with his children

Bob Kroll studied history at Providence College and the University of New Brunswick. He worked on farms and in the woods before settling into a forty year writing career. His previous books include The Drop Zone, The Hell Of It All, and Fire Trap. He lives in Halifax, Nova Scotia.
Loading
Title:The Punishing Journey Of Arthur Delaney: A Novel
Format:Paperback
Product dimensions:224 pages, 8.5 X 5.5 X 0.52 in
Shipping dimensions:224 pages, 8.5 X 5.5 X 0.52 in
Published:June 7, 2022
Publisher:ECW Press
Language:English
Appropriate for ages:All ages
ISBN - 13:9781770416338

Recently Viewed
|