The Queen Of Attolia by Megan Whalen TurnerThe Queen Of Attolia by Megan Whalen Turner

The Queen Of Attolia

byMegan Whalen Turner

Paperback | January 24, 2006

Pricing and Purchase Info

$8.10 online 
$8.99 list price
Earn 41 plum® points

Out of stock online

Available in stores

about

Discover the world of the Queen’s Thief

New York Times-bestselling author Megan Whalen Turner’s entrancing and award-winning Queen’s Thief novels bring to life the world of the epics and feature one of the most charismatic and incorrigible characters of fiction, Eugenides the thief. Megan Whalen Turner’s Queen’s Thief novels are rich with political machinations and intrigue, battles lost and won, dangerous journeys, divine intervention, power, passion, revenge, and deception. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Marie Lu, Patrick Rothfuss, and George R. R. Martin.

The brilliant thief Eugenides has visited the Queen of Attolia’s palace one too many times, leaving small tokens and then departing unseen. When his final excursion does not go as planned, he is captured by the ruthless queen. The Queen’s Thief novels have been praised by writers, critics, reviewers, and fans and have been honored with glowing reviews, “best of” citations, and numerous awards, including the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, a Newbery Honor, the Andre Norton Award shortlist, and the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award. Discover and rediscover the stand-alone companions, The Queen of Attolia, The King of Attolia, A Conspiracy of Kings, and Thick as Thieves, all epic novels set in the world of the Queen’s Thief.

A Booklist Top 10 Fantasy Books for Youth
ALA Popular Paperbacks for Young Adults
A New York Public Library Book for the Teen Age
Parent’s Choice Gold Award
A Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books Blue Ribbon Book

“The Queen’s Thief books awe and inspire me. They have the feel of a secret, discovered history of real but forgotten lands. The plot-craft is peerless, the revelations stunning, and the characters flawed, cunning, heartbreaking, exceptional. Megan Whalen Turner’s books have a permanent spot on my favorites shelf, with space waiting for more books to come.”—Laini Taylor, New York Times-bestselling author of the Daughter of Smoke and Bone novels and Strange the Dreamer

"Unforgettable characters, plot twists that will make your head spin, a world rendered in elegant detail—you will fall in love with every page of these stories. Megan Whalen Turner writes vivid, immersive, heartbreaking fantasy that will leave you desperate to return to Attolia again and again."—Leigh Bardugo, New York Times-bestselling author of the The Grisha Trilogy and Six of Crows

“Megan Whalen Turner proves to be one of the brightest creative talents. With each book, she continues to add new levels and new luster to her sparkling imagination.”—Lloyd Alexander, Newbery Medalist and National Book Award-winning author of The Chronicles of Prydain

“Readers will be spellbound.”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Turner’s storytelling is so sure that readers will want to go along with her—and discover whatever it is that Eugenides will do next.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“[An] intense read . . . thoroughly involving and wholly satisfying on all fronts.”—The Horn Book (starred review)

Megan Whalen Turner is the author of the Newbery Honor Book The Thief and its companions, The Queen of Attolia and The King of Attolia. She lives with her family in Ohio.
Loading
Title:The Queen Of AttoliaFormat:PaperbackDimensions:368 pages, 7.62 × 5.12 × 0.74 inPublished:January 24, 2006Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0060841826

ISBN - 13:9780060841829

Appropriate for ages: 9 - 12

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from An Unconventional Novel Short and Sweet: The King of Attolia defied all conventional logic that a fantasy series follows and managed to delight me and keep me hooked throughout this political masterpiece. Let’s go more into detail: It honestly took me a while to pick up The King Of Attolia after I put down book two, The Queen of Attolia, for reasons unknown to even me. I really liked QoA in comparison to book one, The Thief, but it still took me a long time to get into the mood for this one. I'd heard a lot of people say that The King of Attolia was BY FAR the best book in the series so far and so my expectations were high. It didn't disappoint, but I will admit that the beginning of this book threw me a little bit. If you've been following my reviews of The Thief and The Queen of Attolia, you'll know that it took me a while to get used to Eugenides and his narration but the minute I had, we got the book from another's (new) character's point of view. While books one and two were all about travelling, this one was set purely in the palace with Gen's transition to King being told from the point of view of a Palace Guard. Gen, once again, faces tremendous character growth but from the eyes of a third party. At first, Gen seems like a thoroughly disinterested King. sleeping at meetings, wears ridiculous clothes and takes none of his duties seriously, letting his wife, the Queen rule as she always has. From Costis' POV (the guard) we see how his view of Gen changes from an arrogant King to a boy who misses his home and everything he knew. One thing I should mention is the GORGEOUS construction of Attolia in this book. In The Thief, we only saw it from it's enemy kingdom's perspective but in this book, we were properly introduced to the customs, religious practices and superstitions of a beautiful kingdom. As always with this series, Megan Whalen Turner managed to get the politics and ruling a kingdom SPOT ON. There were twists, turns, betrayals, assassination attempts and so high paced that I LOVED IT. A series definitely worth diving into (you can read them all as stand-alones or together) purely for the fact that you will NOT be able to predict what happens next. The Queen's Thief series defies all conventional fantasy rules and paves its own way to glory. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2017-06-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 4.5 stars for intriguing plot and characters as always. I miss Sophos from the 1st book though but at least he's in the 4th book. And now I remember who Kamet is to prepare for Thick As Thieves. On to the next book!
Date published: 2017-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Definite Step Up Short and Sweet: The Queen of Attolia was a huge step up from the first book in this series, The Thief, in terms of the storyline, politics, writing and especially Gen, our main character. Let’s go more into detail: Like I said in my review of book one, I couldn’t help but feel that The Thief was more prequel novella than anything else, mostly because I felt like the ‘Master Thief’ that we were promised was just someone with a lot of luck. Also, the book was too nice and not at all filled with backstabbing and cunningness that I would expect from a book told in a Thief’s POV. (Thanks Six of Crows) The Queen of Attolia, like I hoped it would be was SO SO MUCH BETTER. For starters, there was a lot more going on in the book. I adored Gen’s descriptions in this book of his thieving encounters. They felt real, and pumped with adrenaline and actually showed off his skills unlike in book one. I also REALLY LOVED the basic plot of this story. It showed us Gen is a whole different light. He was smart, capable and slightly cocky like in the first book but at the same time, after he gets caught, we see a more human as he wallowed in self-pity. He also made mistakes that he had to work to overcome, find his way back to becoming a capable Queen’s Thief and I really liked seeing him grow as a character. Another thing I loved about the book was how we got to know the Queen of Attolia a lot more. We met her for a brief scene in the first book and here we also got to know her better – her motivations, the numerous pressures on her and how she survives as a woman in a man’s world. I also loved the REALLY WELL DONE politics in this world, and all the war (battle) strategy. It is, after all, a book that encompasses the political nature of three countries – Eddis, Sounis and Attolia – and it took on that all important feeling that I expected from it. As I said in my short and sweet, I liked this book a WHOLE lot better than book one, but I still didn’t fall in love and flail about it! Hopefully I will in book three, though. 4 stars.
Date published: 2017-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic One-Shot Read This book holds a special place in my heart for being one of the first novels I have read that has captivated me so deeply. Even though the setting is reflective of old Grecian culture it still retains a fantastic fantasy light that makes this world appear completely different from any that we've seen on Earth. The plot is fantastic and even though future events can be predicted quite easily it still is a riveting story that can easily be read within the span of an afternoon.
Date published: 2017-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thoughtful and intricate plot and characters Another great series with thoughtful and intricate plot and characters. A fantasy setting lightly modelled after historical Greece, but still quite original and unlike anything I have read before in the genre.
Date published: 2016-12-27

Editorial Reviews

“This rich, layered tale is immensely satisfying. A story to savor, one of those books a reader will race through to find out what happens, at the same time never wanting it to end.”