The Queen Of Palmyra: A Novel

Paperback | October 28, 2015

byMinrose Gwin

not yet rated|write a review

“The most powerful and also the most lyrical novel about race, racism, and denial in the American South since To Kill a Mockingbird.”
— Lee Smith, author of On Agate Hill

“Exquisitely beautiful… The novel grips the reader from its first page and relentlessly drives us to its conclusion.”
— William Ferris, author of Give My Poor Heart Ease: Voices of the Mississippi Blues

An atmospheric debut novel about growing up in the changing South in 1960s Mississippi in the tradition of Sue Monk Kidd’s The Secret Life of Bees and Kathryn Stockett’s The Help. In the words of Jill McCorkle (Going Away Shoes), “Minrose Gwin is an extremely gifted writer and The Queen of Palmyra is a brilliant and compelling novel.”

Pricing and Purchase Info

$1.00
$24.95 list price
Out of stock online
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

“The most powerful and also the most lyrical novel about race, racism, and denial in the American South since To Kill a Mockingbird.” — Lee Smith, author of On Agate Hill “Exquisitely beautiful… The novel grips the reader from its first page and relentlessly drives us to its conclusion.” — William Ferris, author of Give My Poor Heart E...

From the Jacket

"I need you to understand how ordinary it all was. . . ." In the turbulent southern summer of 1963, Millwood's white population steers clear of "Shake Rag," the black section of town. Young Florence Forrest is one of the few who crosses the line. The daughter of a burial insurance salesman with dark secrets and the town's "cake lady," ...

Minrose Gwin is the author ofThe Queen of Palmyra. She has written three scholarly books, coeditedThe Literature of the American South, and teaches contemporary fiction at the University of North Carolina–Chapel Hill.

other books by Minrose Gwin

Fields Watered with Blood
Fields Watered with Blood

Kobo ebook|Apr 25 2014

$27.29$35.37list pricesave 22%
Promise: A Novel
Promise: A Novel

Kobo ebook|Feb 6 2018

$16.99

Wishing for Snow: A Memoir
Wishing for Snow: A Memoir

Kobo ebook|Jun 21 2011

$11.99

see all books by Minrose Gwin
Format:PaperbackDimensions:416 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.94 inPublished:October 28, 2015Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0061840327

ISBN - 13:9780061840326

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of The Queen Of Palmyra: A Novel

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

Divert your reader and, and then “clobber” them, advised Flannery O’Connor. In this bold and brilliant book, Minrose Gwin diverts us with the affecting voice of a child and then clobbers us with the ugly truths of our collective past. I can almost hear O’Connor cheering.