The Queen Of Palmyra: A Novel by Minrose GwinThe Queen Of Palmyra: A Novel by Minrose Gwin

The Queen Of Palmyra: A Novel

byMinrose Gwin

Paperback | October 28, 2015

Pricing and Purchase Info

$1.00 online 
$24.95 list price
Earn 5 plum® points

Out of stock online

Not available in stores

about

“The most powerful and also the most lyrical novel about race, racism, and denial in the American South since To Kill a Mockingbird.”
— Lee Smith, author of On Agate Hill

“Exquisitely beautiful… The novel grips the reader from its first page and relentlessly drives us to its conclusion.”
— William Ferris, author of Give My Poor Heart Ease: Voices of the Mississippi Blues

An atmospheric debut novel about growing up in the changing South in 1960s Mississippi in the tradition of Sue Monk Kidd’s The Secret Life of Bees and Kathryn Stockett’s The Help. In the words of Jill McCorkle (Going Away Shoes), “Minrose Gwin is an extremely gifted writer and The Queen of Palmyra is a brilliant and compelling novel.”

Minrose Gwin is the author ofThe Queen of Palmyra. She has written three scholarly books, coeditedThe Literature of the American South, and teaches contemporary fiction at the University of North Carolina–Chapel Hill.
Loading
Title:The Queen Of Palmyra: A NovelFormat:PaperbackDimensions:416 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.94 inPublished:October 28, 2015Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0061840327

ISBN - 13:9780061840326

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Divert your reader and, and then “clobber” them, advised Flannery O’Connor. In this bold and brilliant book, Minrose Gwin diverts us with the affecting voice of a child and then clobbers us with the ugly truths of our collective past. I can almost hear O’Connor cheering.