The Queen's Lover: A Novel

Paperback | March 8, 2011

byVanora Bennett

not yet rated|write a review

From Vanora Bennett, the acclaimed author of Portrait of an Unknown Woman and Figures in Silk comes The Queen’s Lover, a fictionalized account of the life and loves of Catherine de Valois, a woman of enormous courage who became a great queen of two countries. Fans of Phillipa Gregory, Alison Weir, Sarah Dunant, and Tracy Chevalier, and every reader who adores top-quality historical fiction will be swept away by this epic love story set against the rich backdrop of 15th-century England and France—and by this remarkable woman who triumphed magnificently by making her own rules.<_o3a_p>

Pricing and Purchase Info

$19.99

In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25

From the Publisher

From Vanora Bennett, the acclaimed author of Portrait of an Unknown Woman and Figures in Silk comes The Queen’s Lover, a fictionalized account of the life and loves of Catherine de Valois, a woman of enormous courage who became a great queen of two countries. Fans of Phillipa Gregory, Alison Weir, Sarah Dunant, and Tracy Chevalier, and...

From the Jacket

Catherine de Valois, daughter of the French king Charles VI, is born into troubled times. Though she is brought up in a royal court, it is a stormy and unstable environment. Before she is out of her teens, Catherine is married off to England's Henry V as part of a treaty honoring his victory over France. She is terrified at the idea of...

Vanora Bennett is the author of two acclaimed novels,Portrait of an Unknown WomanandFigures in Silk, and an award-winning journalist. She has contributed to theLos Angeles Times, theTimes Literary Supplement,The Times(London), and the BBC. She lives in North London with her husband and two children.

other books by Vanora Bennett

Midnight In St. Petersburg
Midnight In St. Petersburg

Paperback|May 25 2016

$6.99 online$22.99list price(save 69%)
The White Russian
The White Russian

Paperback|Jan 19 2016

$18.98 online$18.99list price
The People's Queen
The People's Queen

Kobo ebook|Aug 5 2010

$11.99

see all books by Vanora Bennett
Format:PaperbackDimensions:624 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 1 inPublished:March 8, 2011Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0061689874

ISBN - 13:9780061689871

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of The Queen's Lover: A Novel

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“A substantial historical novel set in turbulent 15th century England. Ably explores themes of romance and politics.”