The Red Sun by Alane AdamsThe Red Sun by Alane Adams

The Red Sun

byAlane Adams

Paperback | August 4, 2015

Pricing and Purchase Info

$22.48 online 
$22.50 list price
Earn 112 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

Sam Baron is about to get the shock of his life. First his substitute English teacher claims to have turned his old teacher into a lizard; then a strange dwarf named Rego arrives and claims Sam is from a magical realm called Orkney. When his friends are taken prisoner, it's up to Sam to save them. Sam embarks on a journey to Orkney through a stonefire to find his friends-but when he arrives, he discovers that an ancient curse has turned the sun a poisonous red and threatens to destroy the land. With only a young witch girl to guide him, Sam must choose: save his friends, or stop the red sun from consuming the land?Drawing on Norse mythology, The Red Sun follows Sam's journey to uncover the truth about his past-a journey during which he has to overcome the simmering anger inside of him, learn to channel his growing magical powers, and find a way to forgive the father who left him behind.
Alane Adams is an author, professor, and literacy advocate. She is the author of the Legends of Orkney fantasy mythology series for tweens andThe Coal Thief, a picture book for early-grade readers. She lives in Southern California.
Loading
Title:The Red SunFormat:PaperbackDimensions:346 pages, 9 × 6 × 0.68 inPublished:August 4, 2015Publisher:SparkPressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1940716241

ISBN - 13:9781940716244

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

2017 Moonbeam Children's Book Awards: Gold Medal,Best Book Series - Chapter Book2016 International Book Awards: Fiction: Young Adult Finalist2015 USA Best Book Awards: Best Cover Design: Fiction, Winner2015 USA Best Book Awards: Children's Fiction, WinnerBeverly Hills Book Award: Best Juvenile Fiction, WinnerIBPA Benjamin Franklin Awards: Best New Voice Children's/Young Adult, Silver MedalReaders Favorite Awards Children Preteen: Silver Medal Winner"This fast-moving adventure-the beginning of a trilogy-is sure to appease mythology fans who are outgrowing Percy Jackson's antics and looking for darker, weightier storytelling. VERDICT: A great choice for middle school collections."-School Library Journal"Percy Jackson meets Norse mythology in this captivating and unique adventure."-Foreword Reviews (4 stars out of 5)"The Red Sun: Legends of Orkney by Alane Adams is a book that will take children on a roller coaster ride of adventure and fantasy where whimsical and menacing creatures and witches will enthrall readers."-Readers' Favorite (5 stars out of 5)"This novel may appeal to young readers who have enjoyed other 'chosen one' fantasy stories: It moves along at a speedy clip, and preteens will likely identify with Sam's anger and frustration with the world . . . it's a high fantasy tale that maintains a quick pace."-Kirkus Reviews"The Red Sun is a roller coaster ride of adventure, Norse mythology, magic and mayhem. Between Sam facing awesome villains in the magical realm of Orkney to teachers turning into lizards, I had the best time doing the voiceover for the audiobook. Don't miss out on this terrific story!"-Karan Brar, actor on Disney's Jessie and Bunk'd"Alane Adams is the brilliant mind behind the Legends of Orkney series . . . Adams' knowledge of the Norse myths lends itself to an intricate story full of legend and mysticism . . . For Percy Jackson fans."-Hypable"8 Middle Grade Books to Fall For During School Season"-BuzzFeed"Alane Adams weaves a rollicking tale of adventure, filled with magic and mayhem, in The Red Sun, first in the Legends of Orkney series. Adams combines elements of Norse mythology and Umatilla tradition to send her young protagonist, Sam, on a unique quest to find himself and to save the entire realm of Orkney in the process."-Clarion"Cool read for kids"-Middle Shelf Magazine"A fast-paced adventure quest full of Norse mythology and spellbinding fun. Fans of Percy Jackson and Harry Potter will love The Red Sun."-Kristen Hunt, author of Blonde Eskimo