The Regeneration Trilogy by Pat Barker

The Regeneration Trilogy

byPat Barker

Kobo ebook | April 25, 2013

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$25.59 online 
$31.92 list price save 19%

Available for download

Not available in stores


The Regeneration Trilogy combines three of Pat Barker's modern classics about the traumas of youth and war.

The first book in the trilogy, Regeneration, takes place in 1917, Scotland. At Craiglockhart War Hospital, army psychiatrist William Rivers is tasked with treating shell-shocked soldiers before sending them back to the front. Under his care are the poets Siegfried Sassoon and Wilfred Owen, as well as mute Billy Prior, who is only able to communicate by means of pencil and paper. . .

The Eye in the Door, which won the Guardian Fiction Prize, sees Billy Prior working for British intelligentsia in the Ministry of Munitions. But his private encounters with women and men - pacifists, objectors, homosexuals - conflict with his duties as a soldier, and it is not long before his sense of himself fragments and breaks down.

The men's stories culminate in the Booker-prizewinning Ghost Road. It is now 1918, the closing months of the war, and Rivers is increasingly concerned for the men who have been in his care - particularly Prior, who is about to return to combat in France with Wilfred Owen. As Rivers tries to make sense of what, if anything, he has done to help these injured men, Prior and Owen await the final battles in a war that has decimated a generation.

Praise for Pat Barker:

'She is daring, wise, and a pleasure to read' A.S. Byatt

'It has been Pat Barker's accomplishment to enlarge the scope of the contemporary English novel' New Yorker

'Vivid and emotive writing . . . Barker's evocation of the front-line hospital is masterly, gripping in its narrative thrust and judicious in its use of detail' Penelope Lively, Independent

'Her touch is deft but delicate, her compassion strong' Margaret Foster

'A brilliant stylist . . . Barker delves unflinchingly into the enduring mysteries of human motivation' Sunday Telegraph

'One of the strongest and most interesting novelists of her generation' Guardian

'Barker is a writer of crispness and clarity and an unflinching seeker of the germ of what it means to be human' The Herald

Pat Barker was born in 1943. Her books include the highly acclaimed Regeneration trilogy, comprising Regeneration (1991); which was made into a film of the same name; The Eye in the Door (1993), which won the Guardian Fiction Prize; and The Ghost Road (1995), which won the Booker Prize, as well as the more recent novels Another World, Border Crossing, Double Vision, Life Class and Toby's Room. She lives in Durham.

Details & Specs

Title:The Regeneration TrilogyFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:April 25, 2013Publisher:Penguin Books LtdLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0241967090

ISBN - 13:9780241967096

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of The Regeneration Trilogy