The Rift Uprising: The Rift Uprising Trilogy, Book 1 by Amy FosterThe Rift Uprising: The Rift Uprising Trilogy, Book 1 by Amy Foster

The Rift Uprising: The Rift Uprising Trilogy, Book 1

byAmy Foster

Hardcover | December 22, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$6.00 online 
$26.99 list price save 77%
Earn 30 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores


“High emotional stakes and an intriguing premise make this first entry in Foster’s (When Autumn Leaves) new trilogy a solid next read for those who enjoyed Pierce Brown’s Red Rising or Veronica Roth’s Divergent." -- Library Journal

An alternate reality that feels all-too-real, The Rift Uprising is the explosive start to a new trilogy that blurs the line between parallel universes—not to mention YA and adult science fiction—from acclaimed lyricist and storyteller Amy S. Foster.

Normal seventeen-year-old girls go to high school, binge watch TV shows all weekend, and flirt with everyone on the face of the Earth. But Ryn Whitaker is trying to save it.

Ryn is a Citadel. A soldier. A liar. Ryn and her fellow Citadels were specially chosen and trained to guard a Rift—one of fourteen unpredictable tears in the fabric of the universe that serve as doorways to alternate Earths. Unbeknownst to her family, Ryn leaves for school each day and then reports for duty as an elite, cybernetically-altered soldier who can run faster, jump farther, and fight better than a Navy SEAL—which comes in handy when she’s not sure if axe-wielding Vikings or any number of other scared and often dangerous beings come through the Rift. A fine-tuned weapon, Ryn is a picture-perfect Citadel.

But that’s all about to change.

When a young man named Ezra is pulled through the Rift, Ryn finds herself immediately drawn to him, despite her training. What starts as a physical attraction quickly grows deeper, and Ezra’s curiosity throws Ryn off balance when he starts questioning the Rifts, the mysterious organization that oversees them, and the Citadels themselves—questions that lead Ryn to wonder if the lies she’s been telling her family are just the surface of a much bigger lie told to her. As Ryn and Ezra desperately try to get to that truth, they discover that each revelation blurs the line between the villains and the heroes even more. 


Title:The Rift Uprising: The Rift Uprising Trilogy, Book 1Format:HardcoverDimensions:400 pages, 9 × 6 × 1.25 inPublished:December 22, 2017Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062443127

ISBN - 13:9780062443120

Look for similar items by category:


Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Book! Couldn't put it down and read it cover to cover in two days! If you love hunger games, maze runner and the like you will love this one! Can't wait for the second book to come out!
Date published: 2017-08-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Which reality would you choose? Written by Amy S. Foster, The Rift – Uprising, is the first installment in a brand-new trilogy. The book is a mix of different genres (my favourite kind of book) with sci-fi, fantasy, and dystopia figuring most prominently. The book features a futuristic type society where teens are taken from their families and are trained to become super-soldiers, also known as citadels. They are trained to become soldiers because of the ever-present danger of the rift (a portal). The portal cannot be closed and is a gateway to many different versions of earth. In each rift are different species, depending on what happened to that point in the rift’s history. Some contain humanoid species, some contain humans, and some contain vampires. In the book, the soldiers are trained to put any species that come through the rifts in internment camps. The protagonist of the book is Ryn Whittaker. She is seventeen years old and has always followed the rules since she started training at 14. She has been trained to protect against the portal and since she is faster than anyone else and really good at fighting, she is good at her job. Until, that is, she meets Ezra. Ezra is super gorgeous (and another species that I’m not going to spoil here) and Ryn immediately falls for him. Even though she’s supposed to leave him in the camp, she secretly visits him. He makes Ryn take a second look at her life and ask why she is doing everything she is doing and he makes her focus on some hard truths about those who trained her. I was interested by the premise of this book because of the rift element – I’ve always entertained the thought that there are different versions of earth in the universe that are formed because of the decisions we make and it seemed as if this book would be right up my alley. It also incorporates elements of the role-playing game Rifts as well as the Interworld series by Pratchett and Gaiman. In general, the pacing of the book was good and it kept my attention. To be honest, what made me give it three stars instead of 5 was mainly because of the big case of insta-love that developed between Ryn and Ezra. I wasn’t a big fan of the romance between the two of them – she didn’t really have a reason to give up everything she knew for a guy she’d just met. And, because Ryn has been trained that she is not allowed to indulge in any romantic relationships, the romantic conflict forms a large part of the book, maybe too much of a part. Content warning: their training involves torture any time that any of the citadels have sexual thoughts which is a theme that isn’t suitable for younger teens.
Date published: 2016-08-30

Editorial Reviews

“High emotional stakes and an intriguing premise make this first entry in Foster’s (When Autumn Leaves) new trilogy a solid next read for those who enjoyed Pierce Brown’s Red Rising or Veronica Roth’s Divergent.”