The Rising by Ian TregillisThe Rising by Ian Tregillis

The Rising

byIan Tregillis

Paperback | December 1, 2015

Pricing and Purchase Info

$22.20 online 
$22.49 list price
Earn 111 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores


The second book in the Alchemy Wars trilogy by Ian Tregillis, an epic tale of liberation and war.
Jax, a rogue Clakker, has wreaked havoc upon the Clockmakers' Guild by destroying the Grand Forge. Reborn in the flames, he must begin his life as a free Clakker, but liberation proves its own burden.
Berenice, formerly the legendary spymasterof New France, mastermind behind her nation's attempts to undermine the Dutch Hegemony -- has been banished from her homeland and captured by the Clockmakers Guild's draconian secret police force.
Meanwhile,Captain Hugo Longchampis faced with rallying the beleaguered and untested defenders of Marseilles-in-the-West for the inevitable onslaught from the Brasswork Throne and its army of mechanical soldiers.
Ian Tregillis is the son of a bearded mountebank and a discredited tarot card reader. He was born and raised in Minnesota, where his parents had landed after fleeing the wrath of a Flemish prince. (The full story, he's told, involves a Dutch tramp steamer and a stolen horse.) Nowadays he lives in New Mexico, where he consorts with writ...
Title:The RisingFormat:PaperbackDimensions:480 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.25 inPublished:December 1, 2015Publisher:OrbitLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0316248010

ISBN - 13:9780316248013

Look for similar items by category:


Rated 5 out of 5 by from Impressive Improvement on the Series This series continues to deliver. I found the writing in this instalment to be less stilted, which was especially a problem with Jax's POV in the first novel. The increasing tension throughout makes it a constant page-turner, which didn't last long with how fast I read. As the second instalment in the trilogy, it is clear how the three are coming together, and it is unfortunate that I am not a time traveller and can't buy a combined novel with all three. Though the overall narrative is clear by the end of this instalment, both the original and this novel continue to work well as distinct stories in and of themselves. This series certainly hasn't suffered from the sequel blues and only gives high hopes for the finale. My only complaint is that some of the new settings don't get explored to their fullest extent. If you are iffy after buying the original, the stakes are higher and the narrative flows better, with better voice from all three of the protagonists.
Date published: 2016-01-20

Editorial Reviews

"Tregillis presents a fascinating look at the nature of free will and the existence of the soul, wrapped up in an absolutely thrilling adventure story. Jax is an amazing, sympathetic character, and the world of the clockmakers and their slaves is so absorbing that readers will be dying for the next entry in this new series."-Library Journal on The Mechanical