The Rubáiyát by Omar Khayyám

The Rubáiyát

byOmar Khayyám

Kobo ebook | April 8, 2015

Pricing and Purchase Info


Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores


The Rubáiyát of Omar Khayyám is the title Edward FitzGerald gave to his translation of a selection of poems, written by a Persian poet, mathematician and astronomer Omar Khayyam (1048 – 1131). A rubai is a two-line stanza with two parts per line, hence the word rubaiyat meaning quatrains. The world’s best-known translations are made by Edward FitzGerald (1809-1883). 1st edition – 1859 (75 quatrains) 2nd edition – 1868 (110 quatrains) 3rd edition – 1872 (101 quatrains) 4th edition – 1879 (101 quatrains) 5th edition – 1889 (101 quatrains) As a work of English literature FitzGerald's version is a high point of the 19th century and has been greatly influential.

Title:The RubáiyátFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:April 8, 2015Publisher:Media GalaxyLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:


Look for similar items by category: