The Savage Fortress by Sarwat ChaddaThe Savage Fortress by Sarwat Chadda

The Savage Fortress

bySarwat Chadda

Hardcover | October 1, 2012

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$16.79 online 
$18.99 list price save 11%
Earn 84 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

The gods and monsters of India roar to life in this thrilling fantasy.

Ash Mistry has always loved Hindu myths: the awesome weapons, the brave warriors, the gods watching over all. Visiting his aunt and uncle in India, he finds the country just as fascinating. When wealthy Lord Alexander Savage asks his uncle to work for him, the family is overjoyed. But Ash knows something is wrong at Lord Savage's fortress, where the bodyguards all seem to have strangely long teeth....

Then Ash discovers a golden arrowhead once possessed by the great warrior-king Rama. In their hunger for the weapon, Savage's bodyguards reveal their true natures: They're rakshasas, demons of Indian myth, defeated by Rama many centuries ago. But why are they working for Savage? And what do they want with the arrowhead? As the myths come to life around him, Ash teams up with a beautiful rakshasa girl in a desperate battle to save not just the world, but reality itself.

Perfect for fans of Rick Riordan and Brandon Mull, The Savage Fortress introduces a terrific new fantasy hero.

About The Author

Sarwat Chadda is the author of the YA novels Devil's Kiss and Dark Goddess. A former engineer, he is very glad to October 2012 now be constructing stories and not ductwork systems. He lives in London, England, with his family. Visit him on the web at www.sarwatchadda.com and on Twitter @sarwatchadda.
The 39 Clues: Doublecross Book 4: Mission Atomic
The 39 Clues: Doublecross Book 4: Mission Atomic

by Sarwat Chadda

$15.22$16.99

In stock online

Available in stores

The City of Death
The City of Death

by Sarwat Chadda

$17.89$18.99

In stock online

Available in stores

DARK KISS T2
DARK KISS T2

by Sarwat Chadda

$29.95

Out of stock online

Not available in stores

Shop this author

Details & Specs

Title:The Savage FortressFormat:HardcoverDimensions:304 pages, 8.55 × 5.8 × 1.03 inPublished:October 1, 2012Publisher:SCHOLASTIC INCLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0545385164

ISBN - 13:9780545385169

Customer Reviews of The Savage Fortress

Reviews

Extra Content

Read from the Book

From The Savage FortressAsh tightened his hold on the drainpipe and hoisted himself up. The pipe shook and leaned away from the wall. John had told him he regularly scrabbled up such drainpipes-how hard could it be? But then John was half his body weight, even after all the exercise Ash had been doing.Arms and legs wrapped around the clay pipe, Ash slowly shimmied upward. The rough surface scraped against his skin, rubbing his belly raw. Cables brushed against his back, and Ash hoped he wasn't about to be electrocuted. But the wires seemed dead, and he found gaps in the walls to push himself the last few feet. With a grunt he heaved himself over the low parapet, dropping on to the flat roof. Holding his breath and willing his heart to quieten, he heard a deep, threatening growl.The drainpipe rattled, then tore off the wall and smashed.

Editorial Reviews

Praise for The Savage Fortress*"Plot-driven, fast paced, exciting, and sometimes terrifying, The Savage Fortress is the ideal next step for readers who loved Rick Riordan's books about the Olympian heroes and Anthony Horowitz's "Gatekeepers" series . . . Make time for this novel, because it is very hard to put down." -School Library Journal, starred review"A classic hero's quest . . . fans of Riordan's Kane Chronicles, Indiana Jones, and the like will appreciate this non-Western take on fantasy adventure." -Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books"Nonstop action and likable teen characters will attract fans of fantasy quests such as the Percy Jackson books and the saga of Nicholas Flamel." -Kirkus Reviews