The Scholar: A Novel

May 14, 2019|
The Scholar: A Novel by Dervla Mctiernan
$20.13 
$22.00 save 8%
Paperback
Earn 101 plum® points
Buy Online
Ship to an address
Free shipping on orders over $35
Pick up in store
To see if pickup is available,
Buy In Store
To check store inventory,
Prices and offers may vary in store

about

From the author of The Ruin comes a compulsive new crime thriller set in the fiercely competitive, cutthroat world of research and academia, where the brightest minds will stop at nothing to succeed.

When Dr. Emma Sweeney stumbles across the victim of a hit-and-run outside Galway University early one morning, she calls her boyfriend, Detective Cormac Reilly, bringing him first to the scene of a murder that would otherwise never have been assigned to him. The dead girl is carrying an ID that will put this crime at the center of a scandal--her card identifies her as Carline Darcy, heir apparent to Darcy Therapeutics, Ireland''s most successful pharmaceutical company. Darcy Therapeutics has a finger in every pie, from sponsoring university research facilities to funding political parties to philanthropy--it has even funded Emma''s own ground-breaking research.

As the murder investigation twists in unexpected ways and Cormac''s running of the case comes under scrutiny from the department and his colleagues, he is forced to question himself and the beliefs that he has long held as truths. Who really is Emma? And who is Carline Darcy?

A gripping and atmospheric follow-up to The Ruin, an "expertly plotted, complex web of secrets that refuse to stay hidden" (Karen Dionne, author of The Marsh King''s Daughter), The Scholar is perfect for fans of Tana French and Flynn Berry.
Dervla McTiernan was born in Ireland and now lives with her family in Australia, where she works for the Mental Health Commission. She is also the author of The Ruin.
Loading
Title:The Scholar: A Novel
Format:Paperback
Product dimensions:384 pages, 8.21 X 8.45 X 0.77 in
Shipping dimensions:384 pages, 8.21 X 8.45 X 0.77 in
Published:May 14, 2019
Publisher:Penguin Publishing Group
Language:English
Appropriate for ages:All ages
ISBN - 13:9780143133698

Look for similar items by category:

Recently Viewed
|