The Science of Superstition: How the Developing Brain Creates Supernatural Beliefs

Paperback | June 29, 2010

byBruce M. Hood

not yet rated|write a review

“In an account chock full of real-world examples reinforced by experimental research, Hood’s marvelous book is an important contribution to the psychological literature that is revealing the actuality of our very irrational human nature.” — Science

In the vein of Malcolm Gladwell’s Blink, Mary Roach’s Spook, and Dan Ariely’s Predictably Irrational, The Science of Superstition uses hard science to explain pervasive irrational beliefs and behaviors: from the superstitious rituals of sports stars, to the depreciated value of houses where murders were committed, to the adoration of Elvis.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$17.62 online
$18.50 list price
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

“In an account chock full of real-world examples reinforced by experimental research, Hood’s marvelous book is an important contribution to the psychological literature that is revealing the actuality of our very irrational human nature.” — Science In the vein of Malcolm Gladwell’s Blink, Mary Roach’s Spook, and Dan Ariely’s Predictabl...

From the Jacket

In The Science of Superstition, cognitive psychologist Bruce Hood examines the ways in which humans understand the supernatural, revealing what makes us believe in the unbelievable.*Previously published as SuperSense.

BRUCE HOOD is the author ofThe Science of Superstitionand is one of the leading international authorities on child development and supernatural thinking in adults. He has a PhD from the University of Cambridge and has been a faculty member at UCL and Harvard and was a visiting scientist at MIT. He is currently the chair of developmenta...

other books by Bruce M. Hood

Self Illusion
Self Illusion

Paperback|May 14 2013

$14.39 online$18.99list price(save 24%)
Supersense: Why We Believe in the Unbelievable
Supersense: Why We Believe in the Unbelievable

Hardcover|May 7 2013

$5.00 online$33.99list price
see all books by Bruce M. Hood
Format:PaperbackDimensions:320 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.72 inPublished:June 29, 2010Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0061452653

ISBN - 13:9780061452659

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of The Science of Superstition: How the Developing Brain Creates Supernatural Beliefs

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Hood’s treatise provides a much-needed counterbalance to hardcore skeptics by arguing that supersense, while not exactly grounded in rationality, ultimately gives our lives meaning.”