The Science of Superstition: How the Developing Brain Creates Supernatural Beliefs by Bruce M. HoodThe Science of Superstition: How the Developing Brain Creates Supernatural Beliefs by Bruce M. Hood

The Science of Superstition: How the Developing Brain Creates Supernatural Beliefs

byBruce M. Hood

Paperback | June 29, 2010

Pricing and Purchase Info

$18.50

Earn 93 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

“In an account chock full of real-world examples reinforced by experimental research, Hood’s marvelous book is an important contribution to the psychological literature that is revealing the actuality of our very irrational human nature.” — Science

In the vein of Malcolm Gladwell’s Blink, Mary Roach’s Spook, and Dan Ariely’s Predictably Irrational, The Science of Superstition uses hard science to explain pervasive irrational beliefs and behaviors: from the superstitious rituals of sports stars, to the depreciated value of houses where murders were committed, to the adoration of Elvis.

BRUCE HOOD is the author ofThe Science of Superstitionand is one of the leading international authorities on child development and supernatural thinking in adults. He has a PhD from the University of Cambridge and has been a faculty member at UCL and Harvard and was a visiting scientist at MIT. He is currently the chair of developmenta...
Loading
Title:The Science of Superstition: How the Developing Brain Creates Supernatural BeliefsFormat:PaperbackDimensions:320 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.72 inPublished:June 29, 2010Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0061452653

ISBN - 13:9780061452659

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Hood’s treatise provides a much-needed counterbalance to hardcore skeptics by arguing that supersense, while not exactly grounded in rationality, ultimately gives our lives meaning.”