The Secret Ingredient by Stewart LewisThe Secret Ingredient by Stewart Lewis

The Secret Ingredient

byStewart Lewis

Hardcover | October 21, 2014

Pricing and Purchase Info

$1.00 online 
$19.99 list price
Earn 5 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Out of stock online

Available in stores

about

For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jay Asher's 13 Reasons Why comes a journey of family, food, romance, and self-discovery as Olivia, a teen chef living in L.A., finds a vintage cookbook and begins a search for her birthmother that will change her life forever.

Olivia doesn’t believe in psychics. But the summer before her senior year of high school, she meets one in an elevator.
   This summer will be pivotal, the psychic warns. Please remember—all your choices are connected.
   Olivia loves her life in Silverlake, Los Angeles, but lately, something’s been missing. And after getting this strange advice, her world begins to change. A new job leads Olivia to a gorgeous, mysterious boy named Theo. And as Olivia cooks the recipes from a vintage cookbook she stumbles upon, she begins to wonder if the mother she’s never known might be the secret ingredient she’s been lacking. 
   But sometimes the things we search for are the things we’ve had all along.

"Kissed with hope and possibility . . . the sort of book that makes you believe in the magic of everyday life and love."—Daisy Whitney, author of The Mockingbirds
 
"A delicious story. You’ll devour it."—Melissa Kantor, author of The Darlings in Love
 
"It doesn’t get any better than this—a touching tale of first love, family, and finding out who we really are."—Alissa Grosso, author of Popular and Ferocity Summer

"Lewis offers a thoughtful story about food and family."—Publisher’s Weekly

"Nuanced characters, including the talented protagonist and her loving but realistically flawed family, are the stars of this introspective and poignant coming-of-age tale."—Kirkus Reviews

"Olivia is a sympathetic protagonist and her struggles to find her place will resonate with many readers. Enjoyable chick lit."—School Library Journal

STEWART LEWIS is a singer-songwriter and radio journalist and is the author of You Have Seven Messages. He lives in Washington, D.C. Visit him at StewartLewis.com.
Loading
Title:The Secret IngredientFormat:HardcoverDimensions:256 pages, 8.5 × 5.88 × 0.88 inPublished:October 21, 2014Publisher:Random House Children's BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0385743319

ISBN - 13:9780385743310

Reviews