The Secret Lives Of The Four Wives: A Novel by Lola Shoneyin

The Secret Lives Of The Four Wives: A Novel

byLola Shoneyin

Paperback | July 5, 2011

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$15.62 online 
$18.50
Earn 78 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

African-born poet Lola Shoneyin sheds a fascinating light on the little-known world of polygamy in modern-day Nigeria, in her powerful and thought-provoking debut novel, The Secret Lives of the Four Wives (previously titled The Secret Lives of Baba Segi’s Wives). Fans of The 19th Wife and HBO’s Big Love will be enthralled by this riveting tale of a prosperous African family thrown into turmoil when the patriarch adds a young, well-educated fourth wife into the mix who threatens to expose the other wives’ deepest, darkest secrets.

“Alternately funny, shocking, and sad . . . a complex depiction of family and culture in modern-day Nigeria.
Sacramento Book Review

“A magical writer. . . . [A] delicious story.”—Huffington Post


 

About The Author

Lola Shoneyin's work includes three books of poems:So All the Time I Was Sitting on an Egg(1997),Song of a Riverbird(2002) andFor the Love of Flight(2010) and two children's books:Mayowa and the Masquerades(2010) and Iyaji, the Housegirl (2014). Her debut novel,The Secret Lives of Baba Segi's Wives(2010), was long-listed for the 2011 O...
Baba Segi, ses épouses, leurs secrets
Baba Segi, ses épouses, leurs secrets

by Lola Shoneyin

$27.99

Available for download

Not available in stores

Prudenti come serpenti
Prudenti come serpenti

by Shoneyin Lola

$13.99

Available for download

Not available in stores

De vrouwen van Baba Segi
De vrouwen van Baba Segi

by Lola Shoneyin

$18.51

Available for download

Not available in stores

Details & Specs

Title:The Secret Lives Of The Four Wives: A NovelFormat:PaperbackDimensions:304 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.68 inPublished:July 5, 2011Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0061946389

ISBN - 13:9780061946387

Customer Reviews of The Secret Lives Of The Four Wives: A Novel

Reviews