The Secret Lives Of The Four Wives: A Novel

Paperback | July 5, 2011

byLola Shoneyin

not yet rated|write a review

“Alternately funny, shocking, and sad…a complex depiction of family and culture in modern-day Nigeria.
Sacramento Book Review

“A magical writer….[A] delicious story.”
Huffington Post

Lola Shoneyin, a fresh and exciting new voice in contemporary fiction, sheds a fascinating light on the little known world of polygamy in modern-day Nigeria, in her fabulously entertaining debut novel, The Secret Lives of the Four Wives. Fans of The 19th Wife and HBO’s Big Love will be enthralled by this colorful and captivating tale of a prosperous African family thrown into turmoil when the patriarch adds a young, well-educated fourth wife into the mix who threatens to expose the other wives’ deepest, darkest secrets.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$13.85 online
$18.50 list price (save 25%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25

From the Publisher

“Alternately funny, shocking, and sad…a complex depiction of family and culture in modern-day Nigeria.—Sacramento Book Review“A magical writer….[A] delicious story.”—Huffington PostLola Shoneyin, a fresh and exciting new voice in contemporary fiction, sheds a fascinating light on the little known world of polygamy in modern-day Nigeria...

From the Jacket

"I didn't just happen upon this room; I dreamed of the pale green walls before I arrived."Attempting to rise above the secrets of her past, Bolanle, a university graduate, marries Baba Segi, who promises her everything in exchange for agreeing to become his fourth wife. Thus she enters into a polygamous world filled with expensive clo...

Lola Shoneyin's work includes three books of poems:So All the Time I Was Sitting on an Egg(1997),Song of a Riverbird(2002) andFor the Love of Flight(2010) and two children's books:Mayowa and the Masquerades(2010) and Iyaji, the Housegirl (2014). Her debut novel,The Secret Lives of Baba Segi's Wives(2010), was long-listed for the 2011 O...

other books by Lola Shoneyin

Baba Segi, ses épouses, leurs secrets
Baba Segi, ses épouses, leurs secrets

Kobo ebook|Oct 5 2016

$27.99

De vrouwen van Baba Segi
De vrouwen van Baba Segi

Kobo ebook|Dec 6 2011

$19.00

Format:PaperbackDimensions:304 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.68 inPublished:July 5, 2011Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0061946389

ISBN - 13:9780061946387

Customer Reviews of The Secret Lives Of The Four Wives: A Novel

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely beautiful This book is so engaging and gorgeously written. The level of humor is subtle, but a welcome added layer to this book. The fact that it's written from numerous perspectives allows you to really get into each character and see their history and motivations. I would highly suggest this book to anyone that loves fiction.
Date published: 2016-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Simple Masterpiece The synopsis of this book is what initially drew me in, i thought it would be a nice light read and I was intrigued to read a story about a Nigerian polygamist and his wives....not that I didn't know immediately what the "secret" must have been, I mean come on, 4 wives, one unable to conceive and a devastating secret that could destroy them all??? But it doesn't matter, this book is about so much more then a racy secret. It is about the complexities of family, jealousy, trust, and culture. This novel could have been very dark and depressing given it's content and all the things these characters had to endure, but it wasn't, at all. You expect to dislike Baba Segi, but you can't. Each character is sensitively written, all of their qualities and flaws laid bare for you to see, and completely brought to life by Shoneyin. You love them, hate them, but ultimately you understand them, what drives them, why they are who they are...you know them, and realize it doesn't matter what side of the world you are on, what socio-economic/cultural background you come from, or even the colour of your skin. We are all the same - shaped into the people we become by our experiences. This is an exquisite novel, simple yet beautiful, and I highly recommend it to women and book clubs everywhere.
Date published: 2011-11-17