The Secret Lives Of The Four Wives: A Novel

Paperback | July 5, 2011

byLola Shoneyin

not yet rated|write a review

“Alternately funny, shocking, and sad…a complex depiction of family and culture in modern-day Nigeria.
Sacramento Book Review

“A magical writer….[A] delicious story.”
Huffington Post

Lola Shoneyin, a fresh and exciting new voice in contemporary fiction, sheds a fascinating light on the little known world of polygamy in modern-day Nigeria, in her fabulously entertaining debut novel, The Secret Lives of the Four Wives. Fans of The 19th Wife and HBO’s Big Love will be enthralled by this colorful and captivating tale of a prosperous African family thrown into turmoil when the patriarch adds a young, well-educated fourth wife into the mix who threatens to expose the other wives’ deepest, darkest secrets.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$15.39
$18.50 list price save 16%
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25

From the Publisher

“Alternately funny, shocking, and sad…a complex depiction of family and culture in modern-day Nigeria.—Sacramento Book Review“A magical writer….[A] delicious story.”—Huffington PostLola Shoneyin, a fresh and exciting new voice in contemporary fiction, sheds a fascinating light on the little known world of polygamy in modern-day Nigeria...

From the Jacket

"I didn't just happen upon this room; I dreamed of the pale green walls before I arrived."Attempting to rise above the secrets of her past, Bolanle, a university graduate, marries Baba Segi, who promises her everything in exchange for agreeing to become his fourth wife. Thus she enters into a polygamous world filled with expensive clo...

Lola Shoneyin's work includes three books of poems:So All the Time I Was Sitting on an Egg(1997),Song of a Riverbird(2002) andFor the Love of Flight(2010) and two children's books:Mayowa and the Masquerades(2010) and Iyaji, the Housegirl (2014). Her debut novel,The Secret Lives of Baba Segi's Wives(2010), was long-listed for the 2011 O...

other books by Lola Shoneyin

Prudenti come serpenti
Prudenti come serpenti

Kobo ebook|Oct 25 2012

$13.99

Baba Segi, ses épouses, leurs secrets
Baba Segi, ses épouses, leurs secrets

Kobo ebook|Oct 5 2016

$27.99

see all books by Lola Shoneyin
Format:PaperbackDimensions:304 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.68 inPublished:July 5, 2011Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0061946389

ISBN - 13:9780061946387

Customer Reviews of The Secret Lives Of The Four Wives: A Novel

Reviews