The Secret Orphan by Glynis PetersThe Secret Orphan by Glynis Peters

The Secret Orphan

byGlynis Peters

Paperback | December 18, 2018

Pricing and Purchase Info

$22.20 online 
$22.99 list price
Earn 111 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Keep her secret Keep her safeOn the 14th November 1940, Hitler's bombs rain down on Coventry. From the rubble of a bombed-out family home, a young girl is saved.This is a stunning and memorable page-turner of love, loss and resilience for fans of Orphan Train and The Secret WifeKeep her secret Keep her safeOn the 14th November 1940, Hitler's bombs rain down on Coventry. From the rubble of a bombed-out family home, a young girl is saved.As the Nazis' relentless bombs fall during the Blitz of Coventry, six-year-old Rose Sherbourne finds herself orphaned and under the guardianship of a Cornish farmer's daughter, Elenor Cardew.Elenor knows that the only way to protect spirited Rose is to leave the city and make a new life for themselves away from harm. But soon Elenor discovers that Hitler's firestorm is not the only thing she must fear when she learns a devastating secret about Rose.With Rose's life in imminent danger, Elenor turns to the only person she can trust to keep the deadly secret, heroic Canadian pilot, Jackson St John. And amidst the destruction of war, an unlikely romance blossoms as they find a way to protect the child they have both grown to love.and each other.Readers LOVE The Secret Orphan:'Keeps you wanting to read into the small hours' Lisa, Goodreads'The best and most beautiful book I've read in a long time' Brid, Netgalley'Simply amazing' Rikki-Doodlebug's Book Reviews'Captivated from beginning to end' Jessyca, Goodreads'A gripping, page turner set in WWII . Loved it' Amanda, Netgalley
Glynis Peters lives in the seaside town of Dovercourt-Harwich. In 2014 she was shortlisted for the Festival of Romance New Talent Award.When Glynis is not writing, she enjoys making greetings cards, Cross Stitch, fishing and looking after her gorgeous grandchildren.The Secret Orphan is her first WW2 historical novel.
Loading
Title:The Secret OrphanFormat:PaperbackDimensions:400 pagesPublished:December 18, 2018Publisher:HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERSLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0008308837

ISBN - 13:9780008308834

Reviews

Rated 1 out of 5 by from Um... no Ok... so I have to commend anyone who can sit down and write a novel. It takes time and effort. That being said, how the heck did this get published as is? No seriously, how? And how are the reviews so positive? The writing is bad, the pace is choppy, I actually thought a couple times that I had a book that was missing pages and the plot itself is just MEH! This book was like reading a first draft. It seemed as though no one had bothered to edit or review it prior to sending it to print. To say I was surprised to see the HarperCollins logo on this is an understatement. It would make far more sense if it had been self-published. One of the things I pay attention to most while I'm reading is how the dialogue is written. 99.9% of the dialogue in this book is bad. Like really bad. Like so bad I questioned if the author had spoken to another human being in their life. The banter between Elenor & Jackson had such promise at times but not good enough to make me overlook the long, rushed, unnatural bits of dialogue happening between every other character. Oh I had such hope for this book. The reviews were glowing and the plot seemed right up my alley but good lord... were my expectations not even close to being met. Clearly I'm in the minority with this one but I will own this review. This is time I will never get back and it took so much effort to keep this from being a DNF, however I can't blame anyone who lets it fall into that category.
Date published: 2019-05-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poorly written I had high hopes for this book however it is sadly lacking. I won’t give away the story but the ending comes with many unanswered questions . Perhaps some better editing could have saved this story. Mass produced drivel at its finest.
Date published: 2019-05-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Great Read A great book. It was an easy read and a book that kept me coming back for more. I kept wondering what would happen in this war time love story with twists and turns.
Date published: 2019-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from An interesting perspective at this time This was a great book and fairly well written. An interesting perspective of what went on at this time; and a different type of story. A bit predictable but in a good way!
Date published: 2019-01-31

Editorial Reviews

'A real page turner . You will find yourself in England during the war with a story that will stay with you' Lou, Goodreads'A stunning novel and one that should be recommended' Postcard Reviews'A must read for WWII historical fiction fans' Lizbeth, Goodreads'One of my new favourite novels . I love everything about this story' Ashley Murphy Reads'The depiction of wartime life in the Coventry bombings and on a Cornish farm were realistic and compelling' Vivien Brown'A story that I will remember for a long time to come' Shirley, Goodreads Reviewer'Loved every minute of this hard to put down book . highly recommend putting this on your reading list - especially if you love historical fiction and WWII' Roxane, Goodreads'A must-read for anyone who loves historical fiction (especially World War II fiction) or romance' Kindred Connection Reviews