The Seven Stages of an Enlightened Teacher by Christine JaxThe Seven Stages of an Enlightened Teacher by Christine Jax

The Seven Stages of an Enlightened Teacher

byChristine Jax

Paperback | June 16, 2011

Pricing and Purchase Info

$29.95 online 
$31.50 list price
Earn 150 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


Ships within 3-5 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


In The Seven Stages of an Enlightened Teacher, Dr. Christine Jax presents a path to great teaching that shows how and why teaching is 'a calling' in the true sense of the words. The book is grounded in the theory that the education of another person is a spiritual endeavor that improves as the inner life of the teacher improves. While avoiding the perils of dogma, doctrine, and politics, Jax has found a way for teachers to understand the role of God and spirituality in the classroom. She does this by focusing on the teacher's strengths and commitment rather than on the student or the subject matter content. Through inspirational stories, concrete instructional strategies, and spiritual practices, this book helps teachers go through stages of enlightenment in order to become energized, fulfilled, and successful at increasing student growth and learning. The Seven Stages of an Enlightened Teacher demonstrates how the individual teacher's gifts and beliefs are the primary elements of great teaching.
Christine Jax, Ph.D., is a professor and department chair in the School of Education at Capella University, a former Commissioner of Education for the State of Minnesota, and the founder of a school for homeless children. She has 25 years experience in education as a teacher, administrator, researcher, and teacher educator.
Title:The Seven Stages of an Enlightened TeacherFormat:PaperbackDimensions:142 pages, 9.16 × 6.13 × 0.36 inPublished:June 16, 2011Publisher:R&L EducationLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1610480759

ISBN - 13:9781610480758

Look for similar items by category:


Table of Contents

Chapter 1 Spirituality, the Soul, and Education Chapter 2 Stage One: The Searcher Chapter 3 Stage Two: The Competitor Chapter 4 Stage Three: The Protector Chapter 5 Stage Four: The Mentor Chapter 6 Stage Five: The Creator Chapter 7 Stage Six: The Leader Chapter 8 Stage Seven: The Healer Chapter 9 Note on Case Studies Chapter 10 References Chapter 11 About the Author

Editorial Reviews

Jax (Capella Univ.) has written this work to present seven spiritual stages of teacher development. She focuses on personal spiritual growth as an educator, rather than psychological or professional stages. The first chapter places this work in a larger context with reference to other authors. The following chapters focus on reflective and practical considerations for each of the stages identified. Each stage is presented with a case study description and then practical considerations for teachers at that stage. Meditations and activities are included for each stage. The spiritual references at each stage are broad, rather than being tied to particular religious tradition. The title of this work may make the content appear overwhelming, but the writing style and content are quite accessible. Because of its focus, this work will not appeal to all audiences. It will be valued by individuals or like-minded groups of teachers who are searching for balance and strength as they pursue a vocation in education. Summing Up: Recommended. General readers and practitioners.