The Shadow Of What Was Lost by James IslingtonThe Shadow Of What Was Lost by James Islington

The Shadow Of What Was Lost

byJames Islington

Paperback | May 9, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$19.11 online 
$20.99 list price save 8%
Earn 96 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

"Love The Wheel of Time? This is about to become your new favorite series." - B&N SF & Fantasy Blog
"Storytelling assurance rare for a debut . . . Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire." -Guardian

"Islington has built a world with all the right genre elements: complex magic, terrifying threats out of legend, political intrigue, and a large cast of characters whose motivations are seldom clear. Fans of doorstop epic fantasy will not be disappointed." -Publishers Weekly
"Ingeniously plotted...Islington's natural storytelling ability provides incessant plot twists and maintains a relentless pace...A promising page-turner from a poised newcomer." -Kirkus
"Wonderful worldbuilding and terrific characters." - Boing Boing
"Will appeal to anybody looking for a coming-of-age fantasy tale with likeable characters and strong world building." - Fantasy Faction
As destiny calls, a journey begins.
It has been twenty years since the god-like Augurs were overthrown and killed. Now, those who once served them - the Gifted - are spared only because they have accepted the rebellion's Four Tenets, vastly limiting their powers.
As a Gifted, Davian suffers the consequences of a war lost before he was even born. He and others like him are despised. But when Davian discovers he wields the forbidden power of the Augurs, he sets into motion a chain of events that will change everything.

To the west, a young man whose fate is intertwined with Davian's wakes up in the forest, covered in blood and with no memory of who he is...

And in the far north, an ancient enemy long thought defeated begins to stir.

The Licanius TrilogyThe Shadow of What Was LostAn Echo of Things to Come
James Islington was born and raised in southern Victoria, Australia. An avid fantasy reader for many years, it was only when he read Brandon Sanderson's Mistborn series that he was finally inspired to write something of his own. He now lives with his wife and daughter on the Mornington Peninsula in Victoria.
An Echo Of Things To Come
An Echo Of Things To Come

by James Islington

$29.61$34.00

In stock online

Available in stores

The Shadow of What Was Lost
The Shadow of What Was Lost

by James Islington

$2.99

Available for download

Not available in stores

Das Erbe der Seher: Roman
Das Erbe der Seher: Roman

by James Islington

$21.99

Available for download

Not available in stores

Shop this author
Title:The Shadow Of What Was LostFormat:PaperbackDimensions:736 pages, 9.25 × 6 × 2 inPublished:May 9, 2017Publisher:OrbitLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0316274070

ISBN - 13:9780316274074

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of The Shadow Of What Was Lost

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from decent read typical genre stuff, but ok read overall
Date published: 2017-09-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This is NO LotR or ASoIaF Pretty quick and fun read. Not the best writer, but the story is there. If you are looking for seething on a larger scale with high stakes and amazing writing- this is not for you.
Date published: 2017-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good quite long but nonetheless, a really good and entertaining novel to read!
Date published: 2017-08-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very enjoyable classic fantasy with more of a modern story telling edge I just got back into fantasy last year and have been making my way through the classical stuff like Wheel of Time and I've noticed this book is often compared to it. There are definitely valid comparisons but I would recommend this story to someone who doesn't have the patience for a book like Wheel of Time and take this one. Its very easy reading, a little slow at parts but has all the classical fantasy elements you want like magic, mystery, adventure etc.
Date published: 2017-06-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Fantasy Read. Finished The Shadow of What Was Lost - first book in The Licanius Trilogy. This books is pretty good I must say. This isn't Tolkien type of read if that's what you were looking for, but rather a story about a group people who are trying to find their place in the world where at the same time, an ancient evil is about to be unleashed. I liked the connection that the friends share and the mysterious travelers who are connected to the main characters. The book is not perfect, but definitely a worthy read and good start to what looks to be a good fantasy series. Looking forward to the next book.
Date published: 2017-06-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ugh This book was disappointing - though to be honest I read about half and then gave up. I found the author very...immature? Events aren't properly explained or details are missing. There's a lot of inconsistencies - I found myself asking a lot of questions while I was reading, which shouldnt really happen. Things didnt really make sense and it just doesn't feel like rich in detail or characters, or anything, as books by better writers. I would suggest Brent Weeks and Pierce Brown instead.
Date published: 2017-01-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Boring! Copies a lot of ideas from Jordan. Hollow characters that inspire no emotional interest.
Date published: 2017-01-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Scratches the Sanderson itch! The comparisons to the Wheel of Time and the writing of Brandon Sanderson is apt for this debut epic fantasy novel from James Islington. I can't say that he re-invented the genre but the aspects that he used are solidly executed. I look forward to reading the sequel, An Echo Of Things To Come, when it is released.
Date published: 2016-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Book I read this as an ebook a year ago and have been waiting for it to come out in hardcover ever sense. It is a great story that invites you in and keeps you guessing at all its secrets. Despite it being a larger book I swore it went by way too fast and was left just wanting more. I cannot wait for the second book.
Date published: 2016-11-27

Editorial Reviews

"A relentless juggernaut of a book . . . Astoundingly intricate worldbuilding."-The Daily Mail on The Shadow of What Was Lost