The Shadow Queen by C. J. RedwineThe Shadow Queen by C. J. Redwine

The Shadow Queen

byC. J. Redwine

Hardcover | February 16, 2016

Pricing and Purchase Info

$20.53 online 
$21.99 list price save 6%
Earn 103 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

A New York Times bestselling dark epic fantasy inspired by the tale of Snow White, from C. J. Redwine, the author of the Defiance series. This breathtakingly romantic, action-packed fantasy is perfect for fans of A Court of Thorns and Roses and Cinder.   

Lorelai Diederich, crown princess and fugitive at large, has one mission: kill the wicked queen who took both the Ravenspire throne and the life of her father. To do that, Lorelai needs to use the one weapon she and Queen Irina have in common—magic. She’ll have to be stronger, faster, and more powerful than Irina, the most dangerous sorceress Ravenspire has ever seen.

In the neighboring kingdom of Eldr, when Prince Kol’s father and older brother are killed by an invading army of magic-wielding ogres, the second-born prince is suddenly given the responsibility of saving his kingdom. To do that, Kol needs magic of his own—and the only way to get it is to make a deal with the queen of Ravenspire, promise to become her personal huntsman—and bring her Lorelai’s heart.

But Lorelai is nothing like Kol expected—beautiful, fierce, and unstoppable—and despite dark magic, Lorelai is drawn in by the passionate and troubled king. Fighting to stay one step ahead of the dragon huntsman—who she likes far more than she should—Lorelai does everything in her power to ruin the wicked queen. But Irina isn’t going down without a fight, and her final move may cost the princess the one thing she still has left to lose.

C.J. Redwine is a young adult fantasy writer.
Loading
Title:The Shadow QueenFormat:HardcoverDimensions:400 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 0.98 inPublished:February 16, 2016Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062360248

ISBN - 13:9780062360243

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Retelling Awesome retelling of Snow White! I love how the Snow White character is a very strong female lead :)
Date published: 2017-05-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Snow White As A Badass I love the classic fairy tale retelling genre, and this was a great, fun story with lots of action and a fierce, powerful hero. The world-building is fantastic with a new, exciting take on dragons. I loved the way that the magic was used and how Lorelai was taught to use it. The characters are very good, though a little cliche. Lorelai was definitely a Mary Sue, but I still loved her determination, courage, and selflessness. Kol is also a good character who carries a heavy burden, and who also couldn't catch a break in any situation. That said, my favourite character was Leo, Lorelai's brother. The action was thrilling and extremely creative and carried a fair amount of surprises. It's very different from the well known Disney story and while it wasn't perfect, I definitely loved it and am very excited to see where this series could go next.
Date published: 2017-03-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun take on Snow White Unique retelling of Snow White that recasts the princess as a magic wielding warrior.
Date published: 2017-03-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Review from Giselle at Book Nerd Canada This one was a pretty great read! Although the bad thing about retellings is that my mind ends up comparing it to the original story and that's completely unfair. This is mostly like Snow White and the Huntsman and all I could picture were the cast from the movie lol sooo that probably spoiled some enjoyment from my reading. I liked it enough, especially with how strong our main character is. She is fierce and loyal and brave..a real positive role model. I love that she does the rescuing so much. Also the magic is downright terrific. Each spell cast had a saying and I didn't know it was at the back until the end, but it was a nice added bonus. There were certain parts like the mental dialogue that bored me a little or the convos with her pet. Also some of the romance was a bit too cheesy for me, but overall, a great retelling fantasy with a certain spin on the classic that will get refers clamouring for more. I know there was an excerpt in the back of the book but I'm not sure if it's a sequel or a companion because this ends like a stand-a-lone so I was a little confused. Also can I say I love this cover? Pretty much why I picked it up in the first place on Edelweiss and it's by C.J. Redwine :)
Date published: 2017-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! This book had all of the things I loved about the original Snow White story and then some. A strong lead character (always a bonus to see a woman lead the way, instead of playing the damsel in distress), action, magic, friendship, romance and an antagonist that you love to hate. If you love fairytale re-telling's, if you loved the Lunar Chronicles, you will love this book.
Date published: 2017-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not Your Average Fairytale The Shadow Queen was an interesting spin-off of the original Snow White fairytale (not the ORIGINAL original, but the nice friendly tale that we all know). This novel has my favourite sibling duo by far of all the books I've read. The siblings work well together and constantly made me laugh. I'd definitely recommend it! #plumreview
Date published: 2017-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Book The Shadow Queen is a nice twist to the classic snow white fairytale. It has my favourite sibling duo: they are so hilarious when they're together! #plumreward
Date published: 2017-02-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yes! I love fairytales, and this is such a good re-telling of a classic.
Date published: 2017-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Re-Telling I have read a lot of fairytale re-tellings in my day. There have been good ones and bad ones, let me tell you this one is a good one. It is a fantastic retelling of Snow White. This Snow White is not like the one in the Disney movie. She is badass and she will fight for her kingdom back. Not with her fists but with her magic. This story is amazing and I loved it and I want everyone to read it.
Date published: 2016-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So addicting! In the Kingdom of Ravenspire, Lorelei is the crown princess and a fugitive ever since Queen Irina murdered her father and stole the throne. Lorelei is determined to get revenge and, with her brother and her father’s most trusted guard at her side, she has a plan to kill the queen. In the neighboring kingdom of Eldr, Prince Kol has always been reckless and carefree as the second born prince. He was never meant to take the throne but when tragedy strikes his parents and older brother, he finds himself in charge of a kingdom slowly losing the battle against an army of ogres. In exchange for Queen Irina’s help against the ogres, Kol agrees to kill Lorelei and bring the queen the heart of the princess. But when their paths do cross, Kol finds that Lorelei is nothing like he expected and the princess finds herself drawn to the newly crowned king. Together they might be able to achieve both their goals but Queen Irina has a few hidden moves left to play. This was one of my most anticipated books since the moment I first heard about it. The cover design caught my attention right away(it’s so gorgeous!) and the synopsis sounded like something I would really enjoy. It also sounded like the type of book I could easily read in a sitting because I wouldn’t want to put it down. And I was right. I absolutely adored Lorelei. She was strong and so protective over her brother. She was so determined to take her kingdom back from Irina and her heart hurt for her people who were starving because of the queen’s cruelty. She had a way of seeing the good in people and that served her well throughout the book. She was a character that I really connected to while reading. I trusted those she trusted, I got angry and wanted revenge along with her, my heart broke with hers. I loved her bond with her little brother Leo. The teasing and obvious affection they showed each other was heartwarming in the tense moments. Kol was another great character. His was the second POV and I felt for him. He was thrust into a life he never expected to have and just wanted to do whatever it took to save his kingdom. He went from being reckless and a bit of a prankster to having to be a king, and while he may have still been a bit reckless in his attempts, his only desire was to save his people. I enjoyed the spin on the original tale. The huntsman was a dragon-shifter, as were his friends, and the princess had powerful magic. There was so much new added to the story that it felt like a completely new story instead of a retelling. It was easy to read it all in one sitting because it was action-packed and every chapter end just made me say ‘one more chapter’. Even when there was no fighting or action immediately happening, it was entertaining to read the characters’ bantering and teasing each other. I laughed out loud quite a few times. I also cried and screamed a few times as well. It was definitely an emotional read that I felt very invested in finishing. Other than the dynamics between the characters, my favourite thing about this book was the world. Both Ravenspire and Eldr were vividly described and I really liked the way different kingdoms had different abilities and beliefs. Ravenspire had magic, Eldr shifted into dragons, and there were mentions of other kingdoms, some with no magic, some with magic, some who hated dragon shifters. It all helped to make the world-building feel complete but without feeling like I had learned everything so when the next book comes out, I have more world-building to look forward to. And more characters to fall in love with. *I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Date published: 2016-02-13

Editorial Reviews

Praise for DEFIANCE: “Spellbinding, romantic, and impossible to put down.”