The Silver Gate by Kristin BaileyThe Silver Gate by Kristin Bailey

The Silver Gate

byKristin Bailey

Hardcover | January 10, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$21.00

Earn 105 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

In shepherd boy Elric’s tiny village, people think children like his younger sister, Wynn, are changelings—left by fairies and doomed to curse all around them. As a baby, Wynn was born with developmental delays, and according to the rules, she was supposed to be abandoned in the woods.

Instead Elric’s mother saved his sister and hid her away for eleven years. They live in secret and fear of being discovered, yet their home is full of love, laughter, and singing. Wynn and Elric’s favorite song is about the Silver Gate, a beautiful fairy realm where all children are welcome.

But when their long-absent father returns to sell Wynn to the Lord’s castle as a maid, Elric realizes that folk songs and fantasies can’t protect them from the outside world. They have to run away. Still Wynn believes there’s only one place they’ll ever be safe, and it lies beyond the Silver Gate.

The road to freedom is long and treacherous. If they have any hope for survival, Elric and Wynn must learn to depend on each other above everything else—and discover the magic that always reveals itself when it seems like all is lost.

Title:The Silver GateFormat:HardcoverDimensions:320 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.05 inPublished:January 10, 2017Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062398571

ISBN - 13:9780062398574

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of The Silver Gate

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great book Fantastic story. Lovely read.
Date published: 2017-05-26

Editorial Reviews

“Bailey deftly explores bullying and the definition of ‘normal.’ This polished, charming story is a perfect fit for fans of Shannon Hale and Jessica Day George’s fairy-tale retellings as well as an excellent choice for elementary school book discussion groups.”